Showing posts with label L.A.Casey. Show all posts
Showing posts with label L.A.Casey. Show all posts

Tuesday, 8 August 2017

Out of The Ashes (Maji Book One) By L.A.Casey



For Nova, a twenty-three-year-old survivalist, wandering a barren wasteland was a lonely existence. But her day-to-day life was about to drastically change forever. Gone were the days when her only worries were rabid animals, augmented humans, the unforgiving scorching sun, and rogue watchmen. Now, Nova found herself faced with a new threat, and he was tall, grey, and horribly stubborn. 

For Kol, a two-hundred-year-old daredevil, sailing the never-ending waves of deep space was a vast and thrilling life to lead. He had one objective on Earth—rescue as many human females as possible and return them to his home planet. It was supposed to be simple, but no one told Kol that a human female’s tongue could slice a male like a blade. His charge was short, strikingly attractive, and she talked way too much. 

Nova wasn’t going to be kidnapped without putting up a fight, but Kol was more than ready to go toe to toe with her. These two species set out on a collision course that would redefine the phrase "The Big Bang" forever.


I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review...

My review got deleted, or it's removed, I'm not sure, but here we go... again. 

When LA announced she was writing a paranormal romance novel, I wasn't sure what to expect. I'm used to her Irish humour, and sexy american brothers. 
But I shouldn't have worried. 
The book was brilliantly written, well thought out and had a lot of detail. A little too much detail at the beginning though. I thought maybe it could have been spread out but the beginning dragged a little because of all the information she was throwing at us in one go. 
But as soon as the story truly began, I was hooked. I wanted to see where it was going and would happen to Nova and the other human females. 

I can't wait to read more from the series. I think this one will big with paranormal lovers. LA has clearly put a lot of work into this book. There's so much detail, and her imagination is poured into each page. 

4*

Sunday, 26 February 2017

Branna (Slater Brother Series #4.5) By L.A.Casey



Branna Murphy is a survivor, a wife, a friend, a sister, and a soon-to-be-mother. She doesn’t have time to linger on anything, especially on a silly argument about how many children she will bear.

Ryder Slater is a hardass, a husband, a friend, a brother, and a soon-to-be-father. Unlike his wife, he has nothing but time to argue his case about how many children they will have… until that time is threatened to be taken away from him.

A surprise honeymoon deep in a beautiful forest for a secluded getaway was supposed to be fun, romantic and peaceful – until the storm of the century hits and both Branna and Ryder face a new enemy that has means to harm their family. 

Mother nature.

Branna is consumed by her love for Ryder, and will fight to the end to keep her family safe. Branna treasures Ryder, and what Branna treasures, Branna defends.


I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review...

This series just keeps getting better and better. L.A.Casey's writing gets better and better. The Slater Brothers keep getting better and better and they keep getting funnier. 

Seeing them all through this book, coming together as a family with no drama or mad man after them was such an amazing experience. But also knowing Branna is getting everything she ever wanted is just that much more. Loved it. 

I can't wait to get to read Damien's story. Him and Alanah kind of get into it during the book and a huge bomb is revealed leaving them both devastated and lost. It broke my heart because lets face it, Damien is pretty much everyone's sweetheart. He's adorable. 

5*

Thursday, 24 March 2016

Ryder (Slater Brothers Book 4) L.A.Casey



Branna Murphy is broken. For months now she has been a part of a one-sided relationship to a man she loves more than life itself. She prayed for a miracle, and hoped something would change, but found that was wishful thinking. 

Talking didn’t work. Shouting didn’t work. Crying didn’t work. Nothing bloody worked. 

Ryder Slater is furious. For months now he has been lying to a woman he would take a bullet for in order to protect her. He is involved in something that goes deeper than his old past, and if he strays off target, people will start to die. People he loves. 

He couldn’t talk. He couldn’t slip up. He couldn’t lose focus. He couldn’t do a damn thing. 

Things between Ryder and Branna are at rock bottom, and Ryder knows it. Not only will he be taking on a force that could destroy his whole family, but he will be battling tooth and nail to save his relationship and keep the love of his life by his side. 

Ryder targeted Branna from the first moment he saw her, and what Ryder targets, Ryder dominates.


I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

Ryder and Branna's story has been one we've followed since Dominic. We watched them grow as a couple, then grow apart. 
I couldn't believe it when I read the last book to find the cliffhanger to be what it was. I literally screamed at my kindle, 'No, that can't happen'. I didn't want to believe anything could come between the two strongest couples I know. 

Ryder has been keeping secrets, telling lies and drawing away from Branna. When he knows he's losing her, like really losing her he does try, but does he try hard enough? 

We get a rewind to their beginning, on how they met and their attraction to each other. I loved reading that part, it was my favourite. I don't usually like reading past parts in books unless it's an prologue, but it worked in this book. It worked for Ryder and Branna. 

The group are so tight, so close that there are no secrets. Only one they are keeping from Branna for Ryder. So I understand when Branna doesn't go to any of them with her problems. She's been too busy taking care of all of them for any of them to listen really. Not that they wouldn't. They would be there for her, but it's just who Branna is. 

I could also relate to Branna's jealousy towards Bronagh. Her and Ryder have been together the longest, they should be married first, first to have kids, but everyone else is moving forward with their lives apart from them, so I could see why it hurt her being around them all. 

This was by far the hottest book from LA Casey. The sex scenes overheated my kindle they were that hot. 

5*

PS For those who will be begging for Branna's novella, I understand your impatience, but remember, every book of LA Casey's has taken time before it's release date and has any of them disappointed? No, because she doesn't rush. She takes her time to get it to us readers so we can enjoy what we've been so patiently waiting for. 

I'm excited to see what she has installed for us with Damion's book. He's been my favourite character from the beginning, but then Ryder released and messed with my head. SO HOT!!! 

Thursday, 29 October 2015

Aideen (Slater Brothers Novella 3.5) By L.A.Casey



Aideen Collins is fed up. She is at her wits’ end with her eon long pregnancy, her new-found paranoia, but mostly she is fed up with her boyfriend’s constant hovering and nit-picking. 

Kane Slater is happier than ever. He is about to become a father for the first time with the woman he loves. Little does he know that Aideen is both literally and figuratively a ticking time bomb. He just has to survive a few more weeks of murderous hormonal outbursts, and all will be well… or so he hopes. 

They’re both caught up with the expected arrival of their little one, but in the back of their minds is a shadow that won’t fade away. Neither of them talk about it, but the shadow’s lingering presence casts doubt over their relationship. 

Big Phil worked his way into their minds many weeks ago and rooted himself as the haunting figure. Without even trying, he ruins things and causes problems. He watches them from afar, hoping he can break their family. 

Aideen’s instincts to protect her own are stronger than ever. If Big Phil wants to hurt those dearest to her, he is going to have one hell of a fight on his hands. 

Aideen worships Kane, and what Aideen worships, Aideen shelters.



Holy crap balls, this is the best novella so far for the Slater brother series. It's hilariously funny, well written, and for the first time since Dominic, we have all the brothers together. It will make you cry, make you laugh, and make you yell..... 

Aideen is pregnant, still on the mend from Big Phil and what he did to her. She's still witty, full of life and crazy as hell with hormones. She's grown attached to the Damien, the new arrival to her. I can't even describe how great it was having him back in the story, it completed the story. 

Kane is crazy over protective over Aideen and baby bump. Christ, he wouldn't even let her eat a biscuit. How someone who looks like him, acts as controlling as him can be so adorably cute is beyond me, but L.A.Casey does it and she does it so we love Kane more. 

There are so many humorous moments that I can't describe them all. My favourite is.....

  “Can you imagine little Irish versions of Slater women? Fuck, too terrifying to even think about.” 

This had me in stitches. Just thinking of a mini Bronagh, Aideen, or Keela is enough to scare anyone to death. But add in the hotness the Slater brothers bring and I think we have a new series LOL 
A new generation of Slater/ Irish mini people. Let's hope enough of you read this review and think the same thing and hound L.A.Casey until she says YEAH. LOL 

All in all my favourite scene is the birth scene. It was so intense, so emotional I felt every second of it. The suspense of who would be there, and when, it was all heart stopping. My heart hurt for Aideen. L.A.Casey wrote that perfectly. 

I'm going to stop there, but I will end with saying to make sure you read it. It's a brilliant novella and one of the best I've read in a long time. 
It also gives us a sneak peak into Ryder and Branna's book. Which yes, I yelled like a loon at. How can she leave us hanging there. I nearly cried. L.A.Casey will defo be getting a lot of questions asking when Ryder will be released. I for one can't wait for it. 
Plus, it's one step closer to Damien's and he's my favourite Slater brother. YUM. 





Monday, 8 June 2015

Kane (Slater brother series Book Three) By L.A.Casey



Aideen Collins is a free spirit. She is outspoken and tough as nails, but she has to be after growing up in a house full of men. Family means everything to Aideen. Her family consists of her four brothers, her father, and her group of wild friends. Aideen is protective of her family, there is not a lot she wouldn’t do to keep them safe. 

Kane Slater is a tortured soul. Literally. He is misunderstood by people, even feared by them thanks to the scars that mar his face and body. He relishes in their fear because people who fear you, won’t want to know you. He likes his circle limited to his brothers and their girlfriends, but a thorn from an Irish rose is dug deep into Kane’s side, and her name is Aideen Collins. 

Aideen and Kane don’t get along… at all. Aideen is the only woman who stands up to Kane and throws his bullshit back at him without fear of hurting him. Kane is the only man who can see right through Aideen's tough exterior. He knows her deepest, and darkest secrets. They can’t stand each other, but they want each other. Badly. They hide their need behind arguments, and banter, but when Kane drops his guard for all to see, and succumbs to an illness within his body, it’s Aideen who steps up to the plate to take care of him. 

An illness is the least of their worries when a devil from Kane’s past comes back to play with him. Everybody in Kane’s life is threatened, and with his body fighting against him, he doesn’t know if the luck of the Irish is enough to keep his family safe and his demons at bay. 

Kane needs Aideen, and what Kane needs, Kane takes.




Where the hell do I start????
Well, first I want to point out that Dominic I freaking beyond loved. That book is something else all together. I've not read Bronnah, but I've read the rest. 
I liked Alec, but found I picked out a lot of faults with the writing, story line, and what have you. 
Then I read Keela and I really liked it. Not loved, but liked and I felt it was a great introduction for Kane's book. 

Now, Kane... I've loved him as a character from the beginning and always said I can't wait for his story. Plus, Damon's. So when I found out he was ill in Alec's book I presumed the worst and believe me, a lot of scenario's were going through my mind over his illness. 
What he actually has made me relax slightly. My Nan and Granddad both suffer from diabetes, and both have what Kane has. Where they have to check their blood sugar etc.... so for L.A.Casey to bring such a story line into the mix is brilliant. No one could have seen that coming. I think that part of the book she did perfect. She had all the correct information etc. 

Then there is Aideen, the loud mouth, wild cat of the bunch, the one who has a lot to say. She has a one night of great sex with Kane, and no one knew, but then when they did those pregnancy tests in Keela's book everyone is about to find out just how close the two are. 
Reading about her going to the A&E about a pregnancy test, her examinations etc was so weird. Because where I live none of that would have happened, we have a different procedure to go through. We certainly wouldn't go there to find out and we would have had to have been booked in for an ultrasound, so reading those parts didn't bore me because it was totally different. She's also funny, loyal, loving and down right stubborn. There were times when I wish she'd wake the fuck up and see Kane for who is truly is. I loved him and couldn't see why she couldn't at times. 

Kane, even though he's ill and petrified of needles does everything in his power to support Aideen and the baby. 
When Kane and Aideen go to break the news to her brothers, (I'll be back to those bunch in a sec) all the Slater brothers came behind in their own cars, where the news of the baby ends up with a full on brawl outside on the front lawn. Funny is not even a word I'd use. 

Back to Aideens brothers, they so need to get their own freaking series because I fell seriously in love with them. Everyone, make sure to mention this to L.A.Casey LOL  Overall the book was brilliant. The story line, especially towards the end really gripped me. I didn't want to put the book down. It did take a few chapters to get be able to get into it, but eventually I did and I'm so glad. I really loved it. 
L.A.Casey really does have a way at making you laugh at the most stupidest situations.

5* 

Monday, 26 January 2015

Keela (Slater brothers Novella 2.5) By L.A.Casey



Keela Daley is stressed out. She is moving out of her dog box sized apartment and into her first house with her fiancĂ©. Moving house is a dreaded task, and Keela would love nothing more than for things to go quietly and smoothly, but when you’re engaged to a Slater brother, nothing goes quietly or smoothly. Nothing. 

Alec Slater loves his woman. He also loves playing games and surprising her. Picking moving day to do both, turns out to be a failure of epic proportions. Alec wants to make it up to Keela for his mistakes, but as the day goes on, and things go from bad to worse, he doesn’t know if living with him is something she wants anymore. 

What started out as a simple day of packing and moving house turns into the day from Hell. Unwanted house guests. Business propositions. Alcohol. Pregnancy tests. Panic attacks. Fighting. Arguing. Sex, and everything else that is crazy and represents the name Slater. Keela has a choice to make, and not one she will make lightly. 

Keela adores Alec, and what Keela adores, Keela cherishes.


I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

Okay, first off, this has nothing to do with the story.... kind of. 
When I first read by L.A.Casey that she was doing novellas in between the books, I got excited. I thought we were going to get little snippets of the brothers POV. Especially with how this one ends, it would be really good to see some in one of the brothers POV. We get a whole novel of the girls, then another with the girls POV.... seems pointless.... I want to get into those boys mind argh LOL. 

Anyway, I really enjoyed Keela. I do wish we got it in Alec's POV, but still. I really do think it was a great way to start off the new novel for Kane. It really has me dying to read it. I want to know what's going on. 

Anyway, the story is about them moving, about Keela and her fears. Which are all things woman freak over. I've moved so many times I know how stressing it can be, so I felt for Keela. Only thing I can't believe is that they packed up and unpacked in a day. Okay, unpacking part yeah, cause I've done that. But, to start packing the day you leave?? I want to know their secret. When I moved from my flat to my first house, it had taken me a whole bloody week LOL 

I loved the way they played games on the boys and how they reacted. Especially Kane. He had me in stitches. 

The ending is emotional. I can't wait to read his story and to read L.A.Casey writing a serious and emotional story line. If it's going how I think it's going LOL I may be totally wrong. But I love Kane. 

Make sure you check out Keela before purchasing the next Slater brother novel. You also get the first chapter into Kane's book. Well, Adriana's. 

Oh and I love the DOG !!! He's like another character all together. Love him LOL 

3.5*

Thursday, 18 December 2014

Frozen By L.A.Casey



Neala Clarke is a woman of her word, when she gives you it, expect her to deliver. Neala gave her niece Charli her word that she would get her a doll for Christmas. Never mind that there is only one week until Christmas, and everywhere that stocked toys is practically sold out. Neala gave her word that she would get that doll for Charli, so she will move mountains to make it happen. 

Darcy Hart is a people pleaser, when he is asked last minute for a doll by his adorable six year old nephew Dustin, he of course, says yes. However, Darcy faces a dilemma, the particular doll he needs is sold out everywhere. Darcy makes one last attempt to get the doll at a local toy store, and finds out they have only one left in stock, but he also finds out he is not the only person interested in claiming the doll. 

Neala and Darcy go way back, playing in each other’s play pens kind of way back. They are not friends, more like mortal enemies, and both of them wanting a single doll was the start of a series of events that no one could have predicted, not even Father Christmas himself.

I liked the look of the blurb of Frozen so I added it to my TBR list, but never started to read it until a good friend said how much she laughed reading it. I will admit I loved Dominic, but after reading Alec I was a little disappointed, so was unsure about the book when I saw it was 3.99. It's gone down in price now, which is good. 

Let me begin by saying the story line is fantastic. Such a great read for this time of year. It really brings out the holiday spirit in you. I don't know about anyone else, but I'd do what Neala and Darcy did in Smyths LOL that's how crazy I get towards christmas. 
I had a few problems with the story line concerning the maturity of it. Adults can misbehave, act like kids and still pull pranks, hell, I'm 27 and still pull pranks on people. It's a great way to stay young. Only with Frozen it wasn't their behavior that I thought was immature, but the way they were written, how they spoke etc. I felt like I was reading about two teenagers, not two adults. That is until it got to the part where they admit a few things to each other. Their attitude, the way they spoke was perfect. It was still playful, but they acted their age. I didn't feel like I was reading about two kids having sex, when that part came to it LOL!!!
The book is sooooo funny. Parts had me crying it was that funny. Especially the bird. I know from experience with birds they can pick up language like the one in this book did. I had read a book saying it was impossible, but it's not. Its like swearing around a toddler, one day they'll pick up on it and repeat it. 

The only thing I was worried about when buying it was the spelling etc..... After Alec I was unsure whether or not to go there. I also noticed on a few reviews they had said the same. I also agree with the fact we may have spelling errors in our reviews, but your not paying for them, but you are for the book. I'm not sure if she's published it like she did Bronagh unedited or it's just missed the mistakes completely, but I found it hard to read at times. Nothing that you couldn't correct in your head, but those who spent 3.99 I feel kind of bad for. It's a lot of money for this time of year. 

That said, L.A.Casey knows how to make a relationship work between two people who don't get out. She balances the love and hate of their relationship perfectly, humorously so as well aha. Defo one I would recommend. 


3.5*

Wednesday, 20 August 2014

Alec By L.A.Casey



Keela Daley is the black sheep of her family. She has always come second to her younger cousin Micah. Even in the eyes of her mother, Micah shone bright, and Keela faded to black. Now, in adulthood, Micah is a bride-to-be and the spotlight is solely on her. Keela is a low priority...or so she thinks. 

Alec Slater is a bachelor, never one to bed the same woman, or man, twice. He is a free agent who does what he pleases and answers to no one; that is until a fiery Irish redhead with a temper to match her hair colour knocks him on his arse. Literally. 

She hates to admit it, but Keela needs a favour from the cocky Slater brother, a huge favour. She needs him to not only escort her to Micah's wedding, but to also pose as her boyfriend. Alec agrees to help Keela, but has certain conditions for her to abide by. He wants her body and plans to have it before anyone can say I do. 

What he doesn't plan on is losing his heart as well as the possibility of losing his family when someone from his past threatens his future. 

Alec owns Keela, and what Alec owns, Alec keeps.


Where do I start? 
This review has been so hard because of how close I've become with the author, but i'd be lying to you and myself if i didn't write an honest review.

Firstly, I was taken back by the poor writing. When I first read Dominic, I fell completely in love and laughed my ass off. In this book, I had to keep re-reading it, over and over, just to try and make sense of what was being said. On some parts I gave up. I don't know whether the book was unedited and uploaded by mistake or what, but it was really bad. I'm not one to pick out mistakes in someone's work because we all make them. Even top writers make mistakes. This novel didn't just a few lying here and there, it was full of them. I've probably written a few in this review LOL. 

Secondly, the humor isn't as funny as the other novel. It lacked that charm, and wit that Dominic held. I just felt like it was forced and some of the comebacks were so original and old, I just rolled my eyes. 

Thirdly, the story plot towards the end had me boiling mad. I loved the Slater boys and Alec seemed to be one of my favorites and I did feel deeply sorry for him, but to me, there is no EXCUSE for cheating. He could have explained things to her and told her what was asked of him. She could have talked to her uncle, it was obvious she had a hold over him. I just found the whole, he cheated thing far fetched, especially after witnessing it herself. That is unforgivable. If he had done it without her seeing it, I would have been swayed to forgive him, but he knew she was watching and yet he did it. 

Fourthly, I paid £3.59 for this novel and I will be honest and say it really wasn't worth it.

Fifthly, I found the ending was to much of the same as Dominic's. 

Now, the good part was getting to know Alec and Keela, I loved how they were with each other. It wasn't another Bronagh and Dominic, but it was close. The swearing had also been calmed down in this book, which a few readers will be pleased about. I didn't really care for the swearing in the book, it added character. 

The only thing I truly loved about the book was the dog scenes. I have read a similar story line in another book where someone treated their pet like a human and someone didn't along with them. 
In this novel, it's Keela's best friend who doesn't get on with her dog Storm. It's hilarious to read them fight. Especially the scene where they're calling him fat. 
That said, I'm still excited to see what she has installed for the other Slater boys. If I'm guessing correctly, Kane's story is going to be heartbreaking.

Lee, if your reading this, I am truly sorry for the low review. I truly did love Dominic, but I needed to give an honest review. 

2*

Wednesday, 2 July 2014

Edinburgh author Spotlight L.A.Casey



L.A. Casey was born, raised and currently resides in Dublin, Ireland. She is a twenty two year old stay at home mother to an almost two year old German Shepherd named Storm and of course, her four and half year old (the half is apparently vital) beautiful little hellion/angel depending on the hour of the day.

Her first novel, Dominic, was released on March 17th, 2014, and on March 21st, 2014, it became an international Amazon bestseller.



Blurb
Keela Daley is the black sheep of her family. She has always come second to her younger cousin Micah. Even in the eyes of her mother, Micah shone bright, and Keela faded to black. Now, in adulthood, Micah is a bride-to-be and the spotlight is solely on her. Keela is a low priority…or so she thinks.

Alec Slater is a bachelor, never one to bed the same woman, or man, twice. He is a free agent who does what he pleases and answers to no one; that is until a fiery Irish redhead with a temper to match her hair colour knocks him on his arse. Literally.

She hates to admit it, but Keela needs a favour from the cocky Slater brother, a huge favour. She needs him to not only escort her to Micah’s wedding, but to also pose as her boyfriend. Alec agrees to help Keela, but has certain conditions for her to abide by. He wants her body and plans to have it before anyone can say I do.

What he doesn’t plan on is losing his heart as well as the possibility of losing his family when someone from his past threatens his future.

Alec owns Keela, and what Alec owns, Alec keeps.




Expert:

"If I wasn't a Christian, I'd knock your sorry ass into next week, but seeing that I am a man of God, I will pray for you."
"Pray for me? Why?"
"Because it wasn't my girl you hurt, it was his."
I glanced to my right as Nico turned in our direction, the look on his face caused me to take a few steps back.
He. Was. Pissed.
"Yeah, and who is he?"
Alec grinned. "That's my little brother, Dominic."



L.A. Casey

Facebook:Click here
Website:Click here
Twitter: Click here
Goodreads: Click here
Pinterest: Click here
Instagram: Click here

Wednesday, 19 March 2014

Saturday, 8 March 2014

Dominic By L.A.Casey






After a car accident killed her parents when she was a child, Bronagh Murphy chose to box herself off from people in an effort to keep herself from future hurt. If she doesn't befriend people, talk to them or acknowledge them in any way they leave her alone just like she wants.

When Dominic Slater enters her life, ignoring him is all she has to do toget his attention. Dominic is used to attention, and when he and his brothers move to Dublin, Ireland for family business, he gets nothing butattention. Attention from everyone except the beautiful brunette with a sharp tongue.

Dominic wants Bronagh and the only way he can get to her, is by dragging her from the boxed off corner she has herself trapped in the only way he knows how...by force.

Dominic wants her, and what Dominic wants, Dominic gets.
Read on for mt review...