Showing posts with label Mystery/Crime. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Mystery/Crime. Show all posts

Sunday, 22 February 2015

Ember (Elite #5) By Rachel Van Dyken

Everybody Loves A Bit of Darkness..Until It Consumes Them... 
I am a Killer. A Rapist. A Monster. 
I know only pain and survival. 
That is until the Cappo's sister walked into my life. 
And changed everything. 
She's a light who makes my darkness darker, her smile makes my heart turn to ice, and I can't escape the fear her seductive looks instill--knowing it's only a matter of time before I fail--again, and take her for myself. 
This is the story of my redemption. 
But it's not pretty...I died, and now I'm alive, but not living, breathing but not surviving. I am Phoenix De Lange, son to a murdered mob boss, estranged brother, horrible friend, monster in the making, newest leader to one of the most powerful families in the Cosa Nostra. 
And I will have my vengeance. 
Or die trying. 
I am Phoenix De Lange. 
Death is all I know. 
Until she offers me a piece of life--I can't resist taking

It feels like I've been waiting years to read this novel and as always, Rachel didn't let us down. The book is freaking amazing. I don't think I'd ever get enough of the Elite series or their characters. 
I end up laughing in the most inappropriate moments and wanting to cry in others. 

I wasn't sure about reading this book because I wasn't sure I'd like Phoenix. What he did as a boy made me sick to my stomach and I don't know how anyone could find redemption after doing something like that. Then I read the novel and if anyone deserves redemption is Phoenix. He was a victim just as much as the girls were. I felt so sorry for him it broke my heart. Everything about him did, to him not eating, to him not sleeping, it really broke my heart. 
I just wanted him to be happy. 

I loved how, out of everyone, it's Bee that fixes him. That see's he's dying inside. She supports him, pushes him and loves him and it was incredibly sweet and adorable. 

Really enjoyed this novel. I don't want to say anymore as I may as well tell you the whole plot LOL!!! Just know, this series is one of the best out there and with Rachel Van Dyken, you'll never be disappointed. All her work is amazing. She's so talented it makes me envy her. She really knows what readers want in their books. 
The Elite series is something else entirely. No other Mafia book could ever live up to this one. None!!!

Also, you get a sneak peak into the books which just so happens to be Sergio's. It's only a page or so, but my God, my eyes watered. 


Sunday, 30 March 2014

Thief: The scarab beetle series(the academy) By C.L.Stone

Kayli Winchester is a dirt-poor girl living out of a hotel, forced to be the parent for a drunken father and teenage brother who she’s desperate to keep in school. The only way she scrapes by is to utilize her one skill: pickpocketing. But even though she’s a thief she has a moral code: no kids or old ladies, only targets who can defend themselves. Not that they see her coming… 

Thinking she’s been working under the radar, Kayli has no idea The Academy has been watching and taking notice. Now a team that needs her skill has offered her a way out of her predicament and it’s her last chance: work with them, or face jail time. Kayli resists at first, but slowly the boys reveal they can be trusted. With Marc, the straight man, Raven, the bad-boy Russian, Corey and Brandon the twins as different as night and day, and Axel their stoic leader, there’s a lot Kayli can learn from these Academy guys about living on the edge of the law. If only she can stay on the good side instead of the bad. 

Especially when the job they offer her is more than any of them bargained for. After it’s done, the hunters have become the hunted and their target is now after Kayli. The Academy boys do their best to keep her hidden, but a thief like Kayli will never sit still for long. 
Read on for my review ....

Tuesday, 18 February 2014

Eye of the Storm By M.Stratton

Evie Taylor loves her life in Boston, running her bookstore and cafĂ©, but an accident has made it so she needs to return home to take care of her grandmother. With extra time on her hands, she decides to start looking for the monster that haunts her best friend’s nightmares. A chain of events starts no one could see coming.

When the last person she ever expects shows up and rings her grandmother’s doorbell she finds herself in the middle of danger. Bound together in a common mission, they’ll search the world looking for answers. But can they find them in time or will they end up paying the ultimate price?

As the storm rages around them, they find each other, and the calm in the Eye of the Storm
Read on for my review ....

Tuesday, 11 February 2014

Raw By Belle Aurora

Growing up the way I did, you’d think I’d be more screwed up than what I actually am. 
Soon as I turned sixteen, I left that bump in the road I called home and took my chances on the street. 
Best decision I ever made. 
Now, at the age of twenty six, I’m educated, employed and damn good at my job. 
My friends have become my family. Like me, they know what it’s like to grow up unloved. 
But the saying is true. 
The world makes way for those who know where they are going. 
That’s me. 
I know where I’m going and I’ll get there eventually. On my own terms and at my own pace. 
But then there’s him. 
I feel his eyes on me. I see him hiding in plain sight. He watches me. 
He makes me feel. 
It’s unconventional. 
But it’s real. 
I’m sure you’re wondering how a person falls in love with their stalker. 
So am I. 
This isn’t a story. 
This is my life. 
Read on for my review...

Seven Sons By Lili St. Germain

My father was most certainly NOT an innocent man. As the leader of the Gypsy Brothers MC, he was guilty of many things. But he died for a crime that he didn’t commit, framed by an enemy within who then stole his club and everything he had ever worked to protect. 

Including my innocence. 

When Dornan Ross framed my father, he set into motion a series of events that could never be undone. My father was murdered by Dornan Ross and his sons when I was fifteen years old. 

Before my father died, Dornan and his sons stole my innocence, branded my skin and in doing so, ensured that their lives would be prematurely cut short. That they would suffer. 

I’ve just turned twenty-one, and I’m out for blood. I'm out for revenge. 

But I didn't expect to fall for Jase, the youngest brother in the club. 

I didn't expect that he would turn my world upside down, yank my heart out of my chest and ride away into the sunset with it. 

Now, I'm faced with an impossible choice - Jase, or avenging my fathers death? 
Read on for my review ....

Friday, 7 February 2014

Saving Dallas By Kim Jones

When the self-righteous, millionaire bachelorette, Dallas Knox walks into Hattiesburg’s largest night club she is looking for one thing – a one night stand with no strings attached. What she doesn’t expect is to find herself at the mercy of the Devil’s Renegades Motorcycle Club and their President-Luke Carmical. 

Luke is dangerous, sexy, and dark. The life he lives is far different from the privileged life Dallas is accustomed to. 

Can she accept the lifestyle of an MC? 

Can she handle the domineering nature of Luke? 

Or is it too late to save Dallas from the path she has chosen…
Read on for my review ...

Monday, 3 February 2014

Weston (A hard body novel) By Debra Kayn

She's on thin ice . . . 

Detective Rocki Bangli has spent the past four months undercover, trying to get the goods on drug lord Darrell Archer. Now that she's gained Darrell's trust, he's given her a job: keep an eye on the Beaumont Body Shop, a car detailer and private investigation agency. There's only one problem-her target is the hot and very sexy Tony Weston, whose eyes tell her he's on to her game . . . 

He's her only hope

Tony spotted the gorgeous detective a year ago at the police academy and never forgot her. A thousand fantasies later, he finds Rocki working for the most dangerous man in town. Now, Tony's determined to find out what's going on . . . after he brings her home with him. But when her position is compromised, suddenly Rocki and everyone she loves might be in danger. Now Rocki must trust Tony with her secrets, her mission, and her life-or it could be the end for both of them.
Read on for my review....

A reason to breathe By C.P.Smith

Love at first sight was never so dangerous. 

Jack Gunnison has a problem, well, two actually, one is 5'5" and the other is a Killer. 

Jennifer Stewart needs a change after losing her husband, and sending her daughter off to College. 

Moving to the high country of Colorado to restart her life, and follow her dreams, Jenn gets more than she bargained for, when she attracts the eye of a killer. 

Together, Jack and Jenn must figure out his identity, before he strikes again. 
Read on for my review ...

Sunday, 19 January 2014

Carter Reed By Tijan

Emma decided to skip the gym and went home early. It was the last easy decision she made because she found her roommate being raped by the boyfriend. She had two choices. Call the cops and be killed by his family’s mafia connections or kill him first and hope to survive. There was no choice to her. She killed the bastard first and went to the one person who could protect her. Carter Reed. He’s a weapon for the rivaling mafia family, but he’s also Emma’s secret. Not only was he best friends with her brother, but she’s the reason he became that weapon in the first place. 
Read on for my review ....

At peace By Kristen Ashley

Violet Winters once had it all but lost it when her husband was murdered by a criminal madman. During a cold winter night Violet has to leave her warm bed to tell her neighbor to turn the music down. And that’s when she meets sinister, scarred, scarily attractive security specialist, Joe Callahan.

She wants to deny it, but Violet can’t beat back the hunger she feels for Joe so she gives in again and again. Feeling it himself, Joe feeds Vi’s hunger, breaking his own rules to keep her in his bed.

Even though Violet had only one man in her life, she’s sure Joe is giving her the signals and Vi decides she’s ready to take a second chance at life and, maybe, love. But Violet doesn’t know the dark secrets in Joe’s past, secrets so soul-wrenching, they’ve drained him dry. With nothing left to give, Joe’s determined to live his life alone and he breaks Violet’s heart.

Crushed by Joe’s betrayal, Violet comes to terms with the fact that, no matter what signals he gave, Joe was not theirs to win. But Violet’s husband’s murderer is obsessed with her and heartbreak again haunts the door of the Winters home. When it does Joe is forced to face the knowledge that he can’t fight Violet’s pull, she’s under his skin and filled him full to bursting.

Joe needs to win her back and put his life on the line to keep Violet safe. But, having had it all once, can Violet endure losing Joe?
Read on for my review

Monday, 13 January 2014

Satin and Steel By Jayna Vixen

All Rhiannon Blake wanted was to find her little sister, Mickey. The last thing she expected when she walked into the seedy biker bar was to be assaulted.  Luckily, Dax Jamison, the tall, muscled, vice president of The Phantoms motorcycle crew rescues her.  At first, Rhiannon is more than a little afraid of the sexy, tattooed biker.   He's arrogant, domineering, and dangerous.  Then, a slow fire begins to burn between them, culminating in a fiery explosion of sex, drugs, and passion. 

When her apartment is ransacked, Dax insists that The Phantoms provide protection for Rhiannon until he can figure out why she is being targeted by a rival crew.  Then, when an escaped drug cartel boss joins the mix, things start to get even more complicated. Loosely inspired by the hit television show, Sons of Anarchy, this work combines a strong plot with a scorching tale of danger, intrigue and romance. 
Read on for my review.... 

Sunday, 12 January 2014

Escaping reality By Lisa Renee Jones

At the young age of eighteen, tragedy and a dark secret force Lara to flee all she has known and loved to start a new life. Now years later, with a new identity as Amy, she's finally dared to believe she is forgotten-even if she cannot forget. But just when she lets her guard down, the ghosts of her past are quick to punish her, forcing her back on the run. 

On a plane, struggling to face the devastation of losing everything again and starting over, Amy meets Liam Stone, a darkly entrancing recluse billionaire, who is also a brilliant, and famous, prodigy architect. A man who knows what he wants and goes after it. And what he wants is Amy. Refusing to take "no" as an answer, he sweeps her into a passionate affair, pushing her to her erotic limits. He wants to possess her. He makes her want to be possessed. Liam demands everything from her, accepting nothing less. But what if she is too devastated by tragedy to know when he wants more than she should give? And what if there is more to Liam than meets the eyes?
Read on for my review ....

Saturday, 28 December 2013

Marked By J.M.Sevilla

There are three things Lily Evans immediately notices about her new neighbor, Jay Lincoln. The first is his monstrous size, the second is the malicious way he glares at her, and thirdly, but most importantly, the three scars that mark his right eye. She knows the smart thing to do is stay away, but she has never met or seen anyone like him. The more time she spends with this frightening yet captivating man, the harder it becomes. He can make her hairs stand on end but he also has a sweetness to him that tugs at her heart. Soon she finds herself merged into his world full of murder, revenge, and deceit.
  Read on for my review .....

Tuesday, 24 December 2013

With you By Nashoda Rose

Sculpt is an illegal fighter. 
He’s also the lead singer of a local rock band. 
No one knows his real name. 
And from the moment I met him, he made me forget mine. 

In order to convince Sculpt to give me self-defense lessons, I had to follow his one rule—no complaining or he’d walk. I didn't think it would be a problem. I could handle a few bruises. What I hadn't anticipated was landing on my back with Sculpt on top of me and my entire body burning up for him. 
I tried to ignore it. 
I failed of course. And having a hot, tattooed badass on top of me week after week, acting completely immune to what he was doing to me—it was frustrating as hell, so I broke his rule—I complained. 
Then he kissed me. 

Thursday, 19 December 2013

Razing Kayne By Julieanne Reeves

For two years, State Trooper Kayne Dobrescu has wanted only one thing: to understand why his wife inexplicably killed their children and then herself. Memories haunt his days and lay siege to his nights, leaving him questioning his reasons for living. 

Jessica Hallstatt became a widow and single mother the night her firefighter husband died in a fiery explosion at an accident scene. While her husband may have died a hero, he left Jessica with deep emotional scars that haven't begun to heal. 

When Kayne accepted a transfer to the mountain town of Payson, Arizona, he never expected to meet anyone like Jessica. From the moment he pulled her over for speeding, he was drawn in by her whiskey-colored eyes and sassy dimple. He knows she and her children are a forever type package, and he's vowed never to give anyone the power to destroy him again. Yet fate has other ideas, throwing Kayne and Jessica together in a fight against an unknown enemy to save the life of a child—and hopefully one another. 

Sunday, 15 December 2013

Knowing you By Allie Everhart

Knowing you

Now that Garret’s decided he’s no longer following the rules of his wealthy family, he can finally develop a closer relationship with Jade. Things are going well, but Jade still worries that being with Garret is only temporary. And because of that, she’s not sure how much of herself and her past she’s willing to let him see. 
Garret does all he can to assure Jade that the two of them can last, but convincing her of that is difficult when she’s never trusted anyone. So he has to show her, by being there when she needs him the most, even when she tries to keep him away. 
The mysterious letter from Jade’s mom still haunts her and now she’s getting threatening phone calls. Someone from Jade’s past will stop at nothing to keep his secrets from getting out. And his number one secret is Jade. 

Loving you ( Jade series) By Allie Everhart

Loving you

Garret's father has finally accepted Jade and Garret as a couple, but the reason for that is unclear. After what Jade witnessed at the Kensington mansion, she's not sure what his acceptance of her means.

As Jade spends more time with Garret's family, she sees that their life isn't as perfect as it seems. Money certainly doesn't buy happiness in the Kensington household.

Spring semester begins at Moorhurst College and a new student arrives who has a little too much interest in Garret's family. And a little too much interest in Jade.

Garret continues to win Jade's heart with romantic gestures that make her love him even more. It seems like everything is starting to work out for Jade, but as her mother used to say...Good things never last. Or do they?

Monday, 18 November 2013

Infinite Possibilities By Lisa Renee Jones

Infinite Possibilities

Secrets and lies. They are everywhere: haunting her, tormenting her. In the midst of it all, he'd been her escape, her passion. The only person she'd trusted in six years. And then he'd made her doubt that trust, cutting her deeply. But as she'd once told him, she was damaged, not broken. She is ready to fight and not just for survival. She is fighting for the truth and she won't stop until she has it, not even for...him.

Friday, 8 November 2013

Welcome to Sugartown By Carmen Jenner

Welcome to Sugartown

Ana is from a small town, one where nothing happens, considerably boring place.
This was until Elijah turns up into town on his bike, leaving Ana wanting. 
The two grow close but not close enough she wants to hand over her V-card, as Elijah is keeping secrets and a past he wont share, putting her and himself in danger...... 
~WARNING, sexual violence, explicit sex scenes,  violence, strong language ...~ 

Thursday, 7 November 2013

Choosing you By Allie Everhart

Choosing you

Having the chance to finally escape her tragic past, Jade moves across country to a elite private college after winning a scholarship.
Jade wants to be nothing like her mother was, so keeping her self occupied on school work and no boys. This doesn't go to plan when she meets Garrett. As Jade tries to push Garrett and his friendship away, he refuses to let her. 
As their friendships becomes more, Jade struggles to come to terms with Garrett's life style and his family. 
His father and step mother permit their relationship as they have rules to who he can date.
Jade finds answers she has always asked herself but its only left her with more questions about her mother and their past.....