Showing posts with label Kristen Ashley. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Kristen Ashley. Show all posts

Tuesday, 9 May 2017

Midnight Soul (Fantasyland series #5) By Kristen Ashley



Against his will, Noctorno Hawthorne, an undercover vice cop, finds himself embroiled in magic, mayhem and parallel universes. Too late, he meets an amazing woman only to find she’s destined for his identical twin in another world. 

And things aren’t going real great there.

Noc is recruited to help save that world.

What he doesn’t know is his destined love resides there.

Franka Drakkar wears a mask. A mask she never takes off to protect herself in a world of malice, intrigue and danger. 

When Franka meets Noc and he discovers her secrets, convinced she carries a midnight soul, having shielded herself from forming bonds with anyone, she struggles with accepting his tenderness and care. 

When Noc meets Franka, over wine and whiskey, her mask slips and Noc knows it’s her—only her—and he has to find a way to get her to come home with him.

And then make her want to stay.



Franka redeems herself in the other book. Not many like her and as a character, she really is unlikable. 
But she has her reasons as to why she shuts people out and became the snake people know her to be. 
The mask she wears is what people see, and all they believe. 
But then Noc, the Noctorno of the other world sees her for who she really is and saves her from years of torture, other people start to see it. 

Her character was actually really nice. She just wants love and to be loved in return, but she still finds all the caring and sharing, uncomfortable. 

Now, as much as I loved the Franka, and I adored Noc from the other series, I never actually got to finish this book. It kind of dragged to the point I got bored. I couldn't go on. I forced myself for 6 chapters to keep on reading but I felt like the book wasn't going anywhere. 
It could be because I read them one after the other, but for some reason, this one didn't hold the same attention as the others and I actually wanted Noc to get a book of his own. 

:( 

NO RATING AS IT WOULDN'T FAIR SINCE I DIDN'T FINISH IT!!!

Broken Dove (Fantasyland #4) By Kristen Ashley



Far too young, Apollo Ulfr lost Ilsa, his wife, the love of his life and the mother of his two children. The grief of her loss does not settle in his soul, it solders to it. But when he discovers there is a parallel universe where his wife may have a twin, he feels there's hope and sets about bringing her to his world so he can have her back.
But Ilsa Ulfr of our world is married to the parallel universe's twin, Pol, who is not a good man. Not in any way. She's on the run from him and the last thing she wants is to be transported to a fantastical world and be forced to take his side as his wife, even if he is not Pol. And Apollo finds the broken Ilsa nothing like his beloved, and further, wants nothing to do with her.
But darkness is looming and evil is amassing. Apollo must protect his land and keep his family safe, including the new Ilsa.


Ahhh, the things we do for love. 

But Apollo, he goes a little too far. However, it's a bit of a good job he does because the Ilsa who is alive in the real world, the love of his life, is actually in danger from the other Apollo, who is a drug lord or something and abusive. 

But he rescues Ilsa, who he leaves to deal with the new change. She's accompanied by his best men who she becomes very close with. But when the time comes to be with Apollo, she struggles on what to do. 
She knows he isn't her ex husband, and she knows he'd never hurt her physically, but emotionally, she isn't sure. 
She's also reminded every day of who she is to Apollo, and I think sometimes, she finds it hard to put her and his dead wife in two different categories.   

I loved Apollo. I liked him in the first book of the series and we only had a glimpse of him. But sometimes, he could be a real jerk. 
But you couldn't fault his love for Ilsa, who actually adopts a new name on her travels with Apollo's men. 


I also loved the ending of this book. So many surprises as all of the previous characters come together. It was worth the wait to read this one, to see an end as such as to why these four women were brought to this world to find their other halfs.

5*

Fantastical (Fantasyland Series #3) By Kristen Ashley



Cora Goode has woken up in a fairytale world where she can understand what birds are saying to her, men ride horses and have fluffy feathers in their hats and furniture zigs, zags and whirls in miracles of construction.

The problem is, she thinks she’s in a dream but she’s actually taken the place of the parallel universe Cora and without realizing it, our Cora does something that starts a centuries old curse that will sweep the land if she gets captured by the evil Minerva.

At this point, her dream world becomes a nightmare.

Luckily, hot guy, fantasyland Noctorno is there to save her from the clutches of the grotesque vickrants sent by Minerva to capture her. Unfortunately, hot guy, fantasyland Noctorno doesn’t like the Cora of his world all that much (to say the least) and he thinks our Cora is her. And no matter what our Cora says or does to try to convince him, he won’t be convinced.

But Cora needs Tor to keep her safe and guide her through this fantastical world as she hopes one day to wake up in her not-so-great apartment in her not-so-great life in her world. The problem is, the more time she spends with the gorgeous warrior Tor, the faster she falls in love with him.


Okay, this one I found the most interesting. 
I've always wondered what people considered bad luck when the bride sees the groom before the wedding, but this... This is something else. 

I loved Cora and Noctorno. He's HOT!!! But the other Cora, the one who swapped places with Cora, is a BITCH!!! And that's putting it mildly. She doesn't get a long with Noctorno, even though they are married. YES!!! MARRIED. 
They don't even live together. 
So when Cora, the one from the real world starts the new curse, thinking she's actually in a dream, Noctorno is furious. More so than he normally is. 

And although he sees a change in Cora, he doesn't believe her story about being from another world. But he goes along with it, liking the act he seems to think she's putting on. 
It actually hurt to see Cora being used the way she is by him, but it does all work out in the end. 
Until... 

The evil queen switches the two back... 
Dum, dum, dummmmmm!!

5*

Saturday, 6 May 2017

The Golden Dynasty (Fantasyland series #2) By Kristen Ashley



Circe Quinn goes to sleep at home and wakes up in a corral filled with women wearing sacrificial virgin attire - and she is one of them. She soon finds out that she’s not having a wild dream, she’s living a frightening nightmare where she’s been transported to a barren land populated by a primitive people and in short order, she’s installed very unwillingly on her white throne of horns as their Queen.

Dax Lahn is the king of Suh Tunak, The Horde of the nation of Korwahk and with one look at Circe, he knows she will be his bride and together they will start The Golden Dynasty of legend.

Circe and Lahn are separated by language, culture and the small fact she’s from a parallel universe and has no idea how she got there or how to get home. But facing challenge after challenge, Circe finds her footing as Queen of the brutal Korwahk Horde and wife to its King, then she makes friends then she finds herself falling in love with this primitive land, its people and especially their savage leader.


Okay, I thought the first book in the series was good, but this one was REALLY good. I mean, really good. 
The two main characters kind of reminded me of Daenery's Targaryen and Khal Drogo from GOT.
The beginning was a bit much to read since he actually rapes Circe when he wins her. 
But it changes through the book. I know I should hate him, but I just couldn't. He was incredibly sweet to her in the end. he'd do anything for her.
Even though he couldn't speak english, he does learn some of the words. It was cute with the way he reacted to her. 

I also loved how Circe, after everything she'd be thrown into, got used to the way of living. It was like she made for it. 

I couldn't put this one down. I enjoyed it so much and after talking to a few fellow Lisa's Book Review followers over on FB, so did they. 

I've read all of the books in the series now, but this one, is by far, my favourite. 

5*

Wildest Dreams (Fantasyland series #1) By Kristen Ashley



Seoafin “Finnie” Wilde was taught by her parents that every breath was a treasure and to seek every adventure she could find. And she learns this lesson the hard way when they perish in a plane crash. But she never forgets and when she discovers there is a parallel universe where every person has a twin, she finds a witch who can send her there so she can have the adventure of a lifetime.

But upon arrival in the Winter Wonderland of Lunwyn, she realizes she’s been played by her twin and finds herself walking down the aisle to be wed to The Drakkar.

Thrown into inauspicious circumstances, with years of practice, Finnie bests the challenges and digs into her adventure. But as Frey Drakkar discovers the woman who is his new wife is not Princess Sjofn, a woman he dislikes but instead, his Finnie, a free-spirit with a thirst for venture just like him, without her knowledge he orders his new bride bound to his frozen world, everlasting. 

But at the same time Frey plunges Finnie into a web of political intrigue that includes assassination plots, poison, magic, mystery and… dragons.



I wasn't actually sure about this series. I'd been told to read it so many times, but the blurb didn't stand out for me. 

But, been on a book hurdle, I decided to give it a go. 
And I'm kicking myself for not reading it sooner. 

I loved it. 
I loved the time change, the difference in worlds and how well Finnie adjusts to her new life. 

I wasn't sure about Frey at first, but once the book got going, I loved him. 

Dreamy. 

I won't give anything away story wise and I will advise to go in without reading the blurb. I don't know what it was about it that put me off, but it really did nothing to draw me in. 

5*

Thursday, 23 February 2017

Kaleidoscope (Colorado Mountains #6) By Kristen Ashley



For years, Jacob Decker couldn't get out of his mind the woman he let slip through his fingers.

The problem was, he was wrong about which woman he let get away.

But when he meets Emmanuelle Holmes again on a sidewalk in Gnaw Bone, Colorado, things quickly start becoming clearer. And Deck now has new problems seeing as Emme has a boyfriend. A boyfriend he instantly doesn't like. A boyfriend he soon discovers there are a variety of reasons not to like.

That isn't the only challenge Deck faces as he discovers his Emme is a puzzle he's having trouble solving. Warm and sweet then distant and clueless, Emme holds Deck close even as she pushes him away.

But Deck doesn't like unsolved puzzles. And he'll stop at nothing to discover the solution to the mystery of Emmanuelle Holmes.


I only read this was Deck's book and had to ONE CLICK it, especially after reading in Book 7 (Yes, I missed a book or two) that he was with someone. 

So....

I don't know how to feel about this book. I LOVED these characters. I really did. Emma started off as an independent woman. She's fixing up a bloody mansion by herself for crying out loud. She's doing poorly, but hell, she's doing it. The lights go out in my house and I call my mom LOL So power to Emma. 

Deke is... I don't even know what Deke is but he's good with computers and works for the police on occasions to catch the bad guys. The bad guy at this point happens to be the person Emma is dating. 
Don't worry, there's no love triangle, Emma finishes with him pretty quickly. But he doesn't like the fact she's broken up with him. 
He dated her best friend when they were younger until her friend cheated and dumped him. He ended up ditching the both of them.
I thought for sure this was going to be the same MO as her other novels, but it wasn't. He was pretty much out of the picture after getting arrested. 

But it was the whole Emma thing that got me worked up. I liked her, or I tried really hard to towards the end but I couldn't. 
You see, Emma was kidnapped at a young age by a man grieving his dead daughter, who Emma happened to look like. She doesn't really remember much apart from him being nice and taking her to the police station where she was handed over to her distraught parents.
But... Yes, another but. 
She SPEAKS to her kidnapper. When he was released from prison she tracked him down and became FRIENDS with him. 
I didn't get it. 
I don't think I could ever get it. 
The man was harmless, yes, but she was a child at the time and must have been scared out of her wits end if she didn't remember her time there with him. He could have done anything. 
However, this is one of the reasons. The other is the fact it clearly defined her future since she doesn't let anyone in, not really. I knew that was why she pushed Deck and friends away before they become to close. 

BUT then... 

Deck told Emma he was working away and had business to attend to, which he kind of did. But then, Emma drives over to her kidnappers but stops of at the coffee shop on the way, seeing him with his ex, her ex best friend and she loses it. 

Me? This is where I'd kick him to the curb just like she did. But then they hash it out and he BLAMES her mental illness and gets mad at HER. Like he had the right. She saw him there with his ex and he gets mad at her. Instead of just explaining and owning up to his shit, he got mad at her. It got me so worked up and knocked points off Deck. 

Although, Emma did drive me nuts most of the time and I couldn't really blame his frustration with her. It kind of killed the book for me, which is the reason it's getting a low rating.  

3*

Rock Chick reawakening (Rock Chick Prequel) By Kristen Ashley



A prequel to Kristen’s Rock Chick series, Rock Chick Reawakening shares the tale of the devastating event that nearly broke Daisy, an event that set Marcus Sloan—one of Denver’s most respected businessmen and one of the Denver underground’s most feared crime bosses—into finally making his move to win the heart of the woman who stole his.


I've always wondered about Daisy's and Marcus' past. I really did. It's only a short novella, but my God, it's worth it. Seeing Daisy before she met the rock chicks was so heartbreaking. 
Don't get me wrong, she was still the bubbly, caring mama jama southern girl we see in the Rock chicks, but her character screamed LONELY. When Marcus pursues her, I was like, YES! Go get her boy. I loved him. The way he was with her, how he IS with her... heartwarming. 
I want a MARCUS SLOAN! LOL

I couldn't put the book down. From the moment I ONE CLICKED the novel, my eyes were glued to the screen, and the ending, my GOD, that ending did me in. 

I'm also praying we get a Rock Chick, Next generation series. I'd love that. Be so cool. 

5*

Bounty (Colorado Mountains #7) By Kristen Ashley



Justice Lonesome has enjoyed a life of bounty.

Even so, she’s inherited the curse of the Lonesome. A poet’s soul. Which means she’s still searching for something. Searching for peace. Searching for the less…that’s more.

And when the foundation of her life is pulled out from under her, grieving, she goes to the mountains to find her oasis. She hits Carnal, Colorado and decides to stay.

Deke Hightower lost everything at the age of two. He lost it again at fifteen. His life has not been about bounty. It’s been about learning to live with less, because there’s no way to get more. 

Deke’s also watched all his friends go down to the women who gave them what they needed. He wants that for himself. But he knows that search isn’t going to be easy because he’s a rider. His home is the road. That’s the only place he can breathe. And the woman who takes her place at his side has to do it sitting on the back of his bike.

When Deke meets Justice, he knows she’s not that woman. She’s cute. She’s sweet. And she’s into him, but she’s got it all and Deke knows he won’t fit into that. So he holds her at arm’s length. Establishes boundaries. And Justice will take it because she wants Deke any way he’ll let her have him.

But when Justice finds herself a pawn in a dangerous game, Deke makes a decision.

When he does, he has no idea he’s just opened himself up to bounty.


First, I want to say, I'm a huge fan of Kristen Ashley but for some reason, her releases lately haven't been up to her normal writing. Yeah, she does have a tendency to drag out certain scenes and describe something in FULL detail that doesn't need to but it's her writing, it's KA all over and I kind of love it. I also love she doesn't concentrate on SEX scenes which I've found a lot of romance novels do lately. It kind of bores me and I find myself skipping through the sex scenes. So it was a breath of fresh air not having to read loads of that. But this book, it made me realise why I love her books so much. 

Justice is raised by a hardcore rocker. She's lived the road, the music and the fame but after losing her father, she just wants peace. She wants a life of solitude. 
She meets Deke, who we meet in the other mountain men books and he's always been a mystery. He doesn't live in Colorado, but he has links to the community and clearly sees Tate and Chase and them as family. 

Both have history, but you'll have to read to know what I'm on about ;) But the two together really hit it off and are literally made for each other. I wasn't sure how they were gonna work. He likes been on the road, she's settling down and making roots for herself. She wanted more. But Deke doesn't settle. The only time he feels free is on the road, so I honestly thought that was going to be a HUGE twist in the book, but like I said-MADE for each other. 

I could honestly rant on forever how good the drama in the book is, because it is. It's full of everything you'd want in a novel. The action, the tension, the emotion, the romance, the hot scenes, and the friendship and family. It's all brought together into one book and KA rocks at making it blow your mind. 

We also get to see a little of other characters from previous books and previous series which I LOVED!!! I like knowing what was going on. 

The only negative, apart from the ramblings, was the ending. I wish we could have had more of an ending.  

5*

Friday, 1 January 2016

Walk through Fire (The Chaos Series Book 4) By Kristen Ashley



Millie Cross knows what it's like to burn for someone. She was young and wild and he was fierce and even wilder-a Chaos biker who made her heart pound. They fell in love at first sight and life was good, until she learned she couldn't be the woman he needed and made it so he had no choice but to walk away. Twenty years later, Millie's chance run-in with her old flame sparks a desire she just can't ignore. And this time, she won't let him ride off . . . 

Bad boy Logan "High" Judd has seen his share of troubles with the law. Yet it was a beautiful woman who broke him. After ending a loveless marriage, High is shocked when his true love walks back into his life. Millie is still gorgeous, but she's just a ghost of her former self. High's intrigued at the change, but her betrayal cut him deep-and he doesn't want to get burned again. As High sinks into meting out vengeance for Millie's betrayal, he'll break all over again when he realizes just how Millie walked through fire for her man . . .

This story is beyond anything I had believed it would be.... 
So many people have commented on KA's work not being the same, and I have to agree. But Walk through Fire is just what we expect from KA. It was brilliant and exciting read. 

Yeah, I was annoyed at how High treated her. Never asking her questions or wanting answers. And I found myself annoyed with Millie too. She was letting him punish her for something that didn't deserve to be punished. In the end Millie gave him the world. 

Millie and High fell in love at such a young age and straight away. They were inseparable. He was her first and only everything. 
When something unexpected comes to life for Millie she breaks things off and breaks High's heart, knowing it was the only way he would leave. But to me, High didn't fight for her. He should have. That was another thing that annoyed me. 

Years, and I mean, years later they both end up back in each others lives and High isn't happy. He wants to get revenge, destroy Millie. But what he doesn't realize is, is that Millie has been destroying herself for years already. She hasn't let herself live since she let High walk out their life. 

All together the story was great. Loved it. And feel like we've got our KA back. Can't wait to read more from the series.

4* 

Thursday, 11 June 2015

Ride steady ( The Chaos series Book Three) By Kristen Ashley



Once upon a time, Carissa Teodoro believed in happy endings. Money, marriage, motherhood: everything came easy–until she woke up to the ugly truth about her Prince Charming. Now a struggling single mom stranded by flat tire, Carissa’s pondering her mistake when a vaguely familiar knight rides to her rescue on a ton of horsepower. 
In high school, Carson Steele was a bad boy loner who put Carissa on a pedestal where she stayed far beyond his reach. Today, he’s the hard-bodied biker known only as Joker, and from the way Carissa’s acting, it’s clear she’s falling fast. While catching her is irresistible, knowing what to do with her is a different story. A good girl like Carissa is the least likely fit with the Chaos Motorcycle Club. Too bad holding back is so damned hard. Now, as Joker’s secrets are revealed and an outside threat endangers the club, Joker must decide whether to ride steady with Carissa–or ride away forever…


I received an ARC of Ride Steady from Netgalley...... 

I LOVE Kristen Ashley. 
Like all OF her work. 
Not one book I've rated lower than a 3*. And what I love most is her men. No one can beat her hot, alpha males. Carson is no different, I LOVED him. 

This book holds so much truth it's unbelievable. Not many couples stay together when they have a baby or when they're married. It's like they say: you have to kiss a lot of toads before you kiss you're frog. Its the way I see Kristen Ashley's books. All her female characters have given themselves up to a man, and found it wasn't the one they were destined to be with. It proves my theory with the whole frog part, because as soon as they meet one of KA's men they go ga-ga for them. Which, I would totally do the same. 
I loved her little lad, he was so freaking adorable and I could honestly connect to her as a mother. 
Her ex husband is a complete ass. He stops her from breastfeeding cause of it being inconvenient for him, he cheats then moves his mistress in, then getting engaged before the divorce papers are signed. 
I felt so sorry for her because all she wanted was to be a wife and a mother. She was so perfect for it too. 
As soon as she meets Carson, who she already knew but didn't know it, her ex husband starts showing interest again, making her life and their little boys hell.

Carson has changed who he is. He runs from home at eighteen I think it was, before he finished school anyway. But he leaves to find himself, to get away from his abusive father. 
Years later he comes back as Joker, not as Carson. He pulls over on the side of the road to help a woman in need, Carissa, and he's disappointed when Carissa doesn't recognize him. 

I loved all the other characters and it was great seeing all the others and how they brought Carissa into the fold so easily, making her come out of her shell. It's what true friends are and for people who didn't know her, they took her in just like that. 

The story flows really easily, but I have to say I was disappointed with the ending in a way. I expected more drama, more action, just more...
I was hoping her ex husband would be out of the picture by the end of the book, but it all ends differently than I anticipated. 

In all I rate the book 4* 

Monday, 29 September 2014

Creed (The Unfinished Hero series #2) By Kristen Ashley



Way too young, eleven year old Tucker Creed and his six year old neighbor, Sylvie Bissenette, find they have something awful in common. Creed then decides he’s going to do everything in his limited power to shield his Sylvie from her ordeal. So he does and Creed and Sylvie form a bond that grows and blossoms with their ages. 

They plot to leave their lives behind, the town they live in that will hold them down and the histories they share that, unless they break free, will bury them. Sylvie goes to their special place, Creed never shows and she doesn’t see him again until it’s too late. 

With Creed gone, Sylvie is forced to endure a nightmare and do the unspeakable to end it. To deal, she develops a hard shell with sharp edges that very few can break through. So when Creed again finds his Sylvie, he discovers the girl he loved is locked away and he has to find his way back into her heart without getting shredded in the process.


I could not get into this. I really couldn't. I read it all, but for the first time I've rated Kristen Ashley lower than a 3* and this is something to cry home about because this has never happened. 
I felt like there wasn't a story. Nothing. I thought something interesting might happen but it never did. Like Creed's daughter having problems at home lead to something serious or that his ex wife was a bitch, but never showed him. Nothing like this happened. It was completely annoying. Therefore the book dragged like hell, I felt myself skimming through pages most of the time because I just wanted to get to a good bit. It just never happened. 

Everything about the book is in the blurb. There isn't much more I can tell you about Creed. All the unfininshed Hero books obviously fit together and must lead to something good. It's the only reason I've carried on reading them. 
I did find myself confused at times because I found some sentences didn't make all that much sense. I also got lost on what was happening in the story, which was my fault too because of the skimming through, although if i found myself lost I did go back and reread it and still, I was lost.

2*

Sunday, 28 September 2014

The Gamble (Colorado Mountain series #1) By Kristen Ashley



Nina Sheridan’s on a timeout adventure in the Colorado Mountains. She needs distance from her clueless fiancĂ©, distance to decide whether she wants to spend the rest of her life with a man who doesn’t care enough to learn how she takes her coffee.

Arriving in a blinding snowstorm at the A-Frame she rented, she comes face to face with the most amazing man she’s ever seen. Minutes later, when he kicks her out of his house, she goes head to head with him.

Beyond angry because she’s flown half a world away to start her timeout adventure, not to mention her sinuses hurt, she heads back down the mountain and ends up in a ditch. Unable to extricate herself, she gives up, hopes for rescue and falls asleep in the backseat.

The next morning she wakes up in the amazing man’s bed and she’s sick as a dog.

Holden Maxwell spends days nursing her back to health and then he spends the next two weeks trying to convince her to take her Colorado adventure further, in other words, make it permanent and take a gamble on him.

Nina has a tough time fighting her attraction to Max, especially when it seems all Max’s friends, her mother and stepdad and the whole town want them together and both she and Max get embroiled in the murder of Max’s ex-friend and the town of Gnaw Bone’s most detested resident – a man everyone has motive to kill, especially Max.


I've read this book before but never gotten down to writing a review for it. Most of Kristen Ashley books skim on serious topics, but this one was truly heart wrenching. Suicide is a strong subject for most people and they say it's weak, as I've said before in a review, someone who commits suicide, is strong. Living is easy, you know what's going to happen, killing yourself, your ending up in the unknown. In this novel, Mindy, a young girl, friends of Holden Maxwell's was rapped three weeks before Nina arrived at the A-Frame. She then goes through more and ends up trying to drown herself, thankfully Nina and Max get to her in time. So heartbreaking, the words, the emotion of it and how truly true the words were. Amazing!!

I loved both characters and the story line. I loved there was always something happening, even if it wasn't much. Just like the first time I read it I felt like Nina never got a word in edge ways, but then Max will go off on one saying she needs to say something, it got me mad screaming 'if you'd let her speak then maybe she would have said something'. 
Then also there was the issue over his dead wife. She knew, and he had a massive argument with her making her feel selfish. When in fact she did the right thing. It wasn't anyone's business to tell her it was his and she respected him that much she kept quiet until he was ready. Instead of him seeing that or the author addressing that it makes it look like she was in the wrong. 

Other than that it's another five star from me. Love her writing style and her men. 

5*

Friday, 26 September 2014

Raid (The unfinished Hero series #3) By Kristen Ashley



Hanna Boudreaux has lived in the small town of Willow all her life. She’s sweet, cute and quiet. 

Hanna has a moment of epiphany when she realizes her crush for forever, Raiden Ulysses Miller, is not ever going to be hers. She sees her life as narrow and decides to do something about it. 

Raiden Miller is the town’s local hero. A former Marine with the medal to prove his hero status, he comes home, shrouded in mystery. It takes a while, but eventually Hanna catches his eye. 

After all these years of Raid and Hanna living in the same town, the question is why? Is Raid interested in Hanna because she’s sweet and cute? Or does Raid have something else going on?


I got so into this book, but just like Deacon, it was another disappointment for me, but it hasn't stopped me loving the book. It was still kickass. 
I liked both characters, Hanna more than Raid because he was an asshole most of the time. I felt like I could have smacked him upside the head LOL 
He never gave her a minute to blooming breathe lol. 
It wasn't as much as him been alpha male, but about certain things he had a go at her for. You'll understand when you read it :) 

That said, the story line was brilliant, but the ending was not what Kristen Ashley usually brings to the table. It never had no action. Hanna is attacked, there is nothing on it, it's literally her being pulled in her house and then her lay on the floor with someone talking into her face, giving her a warning. I would have liked there to be more emotion or something. Then there was Raid getting his revenge. We got NOTHING!!! Nothing what so ever. Annoyed the hell out me. I needed some action, something to make me go WOW like all her previous books, but nope, not this one. 

3*

Deacon (The Unfinished Hero series #4) By Kristen Ashley


Deacon has an ugly history, a history that broke him, leaving him a ghost of a man. Out of necessity, he left the normal world to descend into the criminal world and found he fit. So he stayed. Cold as ice and living off the grid, Deacon has no intention to connect, not with anyone. 

Then he returns to some remote cabins in the Colorado Mountains and finds they have new owners. One of them is Cassidy Swallow, a young woman willing to work hard to live her quiet dream in a house by a river surrounded by aspen and pine. 

Suddenly, Deacon finds he’s at war. Cassidy’s pull for him to connect is strong. He fights it, but he loses, always coming back for more. But when he does, he gives her nothing. 
 
From the first time she sees him, Cassidy knows Deacon is dead inside. She knows he’s the kind of man who could destroy a woman. But one night when Deacon’s control slips, Cassidy takes a chance. 

He might break her. He also might be her dream come true. 

I am actually sad to say this because I am a massive Kristen Ashley fan and I mean massively HUGE fan !! But this novel was surprisingly disappointing :( *sad sigh* 
I just felt like there wasn't a story, like there usually is with KA books. I'm hoping there is another book to add on because the ending got good and not just because it ended, but because SOMETHING happened. Well, not excitedly happening, but it looked like the beginning of it. 

The book also moved to fast in the years for my liking. I felt like it was too slow for someone supposedly hot for someone if that makes sense, but it's fiction and not real so I moved passed that, I'm not one of these reviewers that pick at stupid shit like that.

I loved both the characters. I loved her vision in the novel and how hard she worked. Same goes with Deacon, I loved he stayed a mystery up until the end. 

3*


Sunday, 4 May 2014

Breathe Kristen Ashley



In order to protect a father he does not respect, good cop Chace Keaton went bad, sacrificing his career and his future. But when the local police department’s secrets are revealed and the wife he’s forced to marry is murdered, Chace finds himself the town of Carnal’s hero. Knowing how deep in the mud he was forced to sink, Chace feels he’ll never get clean. The quiet, content future he envisioned of the love a good woman with whom he could build a family was now beyond his reach. The only thing he can do is find his wife’s murderer.

But he isn’t the only one looking.

While searching for new leads, he runs into Faye Goodknight, the town’s quiet, shy, pretty librarian. Chace has long since had his eye on what could possibly be Carnal’s last remaining virgin. He has also long since given up hope he could make her his. Faye is pure and clean and Chace refuses to dirty her with his sordid past.

Pure and clean Faye may be, but when the shy librarian is forced to go head to head with the man who she’s had a crush on since he hit her hometown, Chace finds Faye is full of surprises. And he doesn't know what to do with her.

Breathe is a novel all us romance readers can relate to. Faye Goodknight is a bookaholic, she has always got her head stuck in a book, which is just like me. I can relate to this book and see myself in Faye. 
One i look geeky shows, which i QUOTE to as well. Have to say i have never watched star treck or anything like that but give me supernatural with Dean and Sam and i'm there. 
The fact she says Holy-Frak made me giggle. loved it.

This is a beautiful, emotional, heart stopping, and hot read. I absolutely loved the twist in. To me this book was different from the rest of the KA books because of Mali. When you read the novel you will understand why it is. It broke my heart reading about his story, about how he grew into a boy he should have always been. Really heart touching and i have read this so many time, and every time i feel the same emotions as if i was reading it for the first time. 
K.A brings out all the raw emotions out in this one. Truly heart stopping. 

PLUS, yes PLUS ... to those who are a rock chick fan like me we have a star guest in this one ;) youll just have to see if you havent already read it. 
Another plus is we get to read more about the Corrupt police with Chase story. It all began with Ty Walker from the Colorado novel Lady Luck. 

5*   

Lady Luck By Kristen Ashley



Ty Walker was wrongly imprisoned and for the five years he was inside, he honed his plan so when he gets out, he has nothing but vengeance on his mind.

But then he walks straight to stylish, leggy, beautiful, goofy Lexie Berry and he suddenly has something else to think about. He knows within seconds he wants her and within days he can love her but with the filth that was flung at him clinging; he also knows he can’t have her.

Since birth, Lexie Berry has been Lady Luck’s favorite toy and because of that, Lexie is cautious. But within a day, she senses Ty is something special. With her luck, however, she can’t trust it. Then she finds out what was done to Ty and she’s willing to do anything to make it right.

Even what Ty will never forgive her for doing.

Ty clings to vengeance and Lexie goes all out to give him back the time he lost. But Ty is battling demons within and they’re up against dirty cops and criminals who will stop at nothing to sway Lady Luck against them. All Ty and Lexie have is hope Lady Luck will finally swing their way.

What can i say, this is one book i can read over, and over again and not get bored. 

This is a book about two people who have had a rough upbringing, two people who haven't had lady luck on their side.
What should have been a pick up and drop off for Lexi turned out to be the best thing in her life. She needs his protection, he needs a wife, what they didnt expect was each other. 
As always, you will love Ty and Lexi, both characters are genuine, funny, and sexy. I loved Ty straight up, i liked he was quiet and didnt express much in the way of words but with his actions. I also liked the fact when he did speak it was upfront, and straight to the point, no messing around bullshit. 
Same with Lexi, she was straight up to the point. No running you around in circles, she dealt with her issues and kept going, she didnt hang back on them. 

Have to say the whole corrupt police department was goo*d, i loved the story lines. It also links onto the next novel 'Breathe' 

5*

Sunday, 20 April 2014

Own the wind By Kristen Ashley



Tabitha Allen has a not-so-secret crush on Parker "Shy" Cage. Shy thinks he knows the path Tabby's on and it isn't a good one. So he decides to teach her a lesson to lead her to the right path. Unfortunately, he was wrong and his actions wound Tabby, breaking her heart. It's Tabby who then teaches Shy a lesson about casting judgment and Shy Cage learns what it feels like to be invisible. But when tragedy strikes and Tabby's heart is broken again, Shy does what he can in the background to help. Trying to forget her heartbreak, Tabby finds herself in danger. To keep it secret from her biker family, the Chaos Motorcycle Club, she calls Shy to rescue her. But when she lets him back in, she gets much more than she bargained for.
Read on for my review ...

Sunday, 13 April 2014

The Will By kristen Ashley



Early in her life, Josephine Malone learned the hard way that there was only one person she could love and trust: her grandmother, Lydia Malone. Out of necessity, unconsciously and very successfully, Josephine donned a disguise to keep all others at bay. She led a globetrotting lifestyle on the fringes of the fashion and music elite, but she kept herself distant. 

While Josephine was trotting the globe, retired boxer Jake Spear was living in the same small town as Lydia. There was nothing disguised about Jake. Including the fact he made a habit of making very bad decisions about who to give his love. 

But for Josephine and Jake, there was one person who adored them. One person who knew how to lead them to happiness. And one person who was intent on doing it. 

Even if she had to do it as her final wish on this earth. 
Read on for my review ...

Tuesday, 8 April 2014

Sweet dreams By Kristen Ashley



Lauren Grahame has spent her whole life thinking something special was going to happen. She didn’t know what it was, she just knew it would one day be hers. But she learned the hard way that special wasn’t on offer.

So, after divorcing her cheating husband, Lauren searched for nothing special and she thought she found it when she landed a job as a waitress in a biker bar in Carnal. It was perfect: a nothing job in a nowhere bar in Nowheresville.

Then Tatum Jackson walked in. Part-owner of the bar, he took one look at high-class Lauren and wanted nothing to do with her. And he made this known, loudly.

Tate’s angry insults seared in her brain, Lauren decides the feeling is mutual and she doesn’t want anything to do with the gloriously handsome Tate Jackson. The clash of the bartender and barmaid begins but, even though Tate makes his change of mind clear (in biker-speak, a language Lauren is not fluent in), Lauren is intent on going her own way.

Until a serial killer hits Carnal and Lauren finds out Tate isn’t a bartender, he’s a bounty hunter. He stakes his claim for Lauren before he goes on the hunt for a killer but Laurie doesn’t speak biker nor does she understand bounty hunters and Tate comes back from the hunt to find his old lady has moved on.

Life throws curveball after curveball at Laurie and Tate as secrets are revealed, women are brutally murdered, Tate leads Lauren to special and Laurie tries to find her inner biker babe.
Read on for my review 

Sunday, 19 January 2014

At peace By Kristen Ashley



Violet Winters once had it all but lost it when her husband was murdered by a criminal madman. During a cold winter night Violet has to leave her warm bed to tell her neighbor to turn the music down. And that’s when she meets sinister, scarred, scarily attractive security specialist, Joe Callahan.

She wants to deny it, but Violet can’t beat back the hunger she feels for Joe so she gives in again and again. Feeling it himself, Joe feeds Vi’s hunger, breaking his own rules to keep her in his bed.

Even though Violet had only one man in her life, she’s sure Joe is giving her the signals and Vi decides she’s ready to take a second chance at life and, maybe, love. But Violet doesn’t know the dark secrets in Joe’s past, secrets so soul-wrenching, they’ve drained him dry. With nothing left to give, Joe’s determined to live his life alone and he breaks Violet’s heart.

Crushed by Joe’s betrayal, Violet comes to terms with the fact that, no matter what signals he gave, Joe was not theirs to win. But Violet’s husband’s murderer is obsessed with her and heartbreak again haunts the door of the Winters home. When it does Joe is forced to face the knowledge that he can’t fight Violet’s pull, she’s under his skin and filled him full to bursting.

Joe needs to win her back and put his life on the line to keep Violet safe. But, having had it all once, can Violet endure losing Joe?
Read on for my review