Showing posts with label Biker. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Biker. Show all posts

Tuesday, 9 May 2017

Axels Brand (Death Chasers MC #3) By C.M.Owens

Fate is just a made-up word used to give us hope or absolution. We find hope when we believe bad things happen to us for a reason. We find absolution when we feel as though the wrongs of our past were just fate’s twisted design to bring us to our present, and all of it was out of our hands.

Of course, I sort of change my mind after meeting Axle. The man with scars and haunted, cold eyes. The man who only warms when he is around me. The first man I believe won’t cost me my life. The first man I’ve ever believed to actually be honorable, despite the fact he’s a ruthless criminal.

Only the craziest of fates could have put us in the paths of each other. More of a collision course, really.

Life gets complicated. Shit happens. And I sort of fall harder than I thought possible.

The first time we met, I was in my pajamas and cowering on the floorboard of his SUV, hiding from my very insane brother. Lovely first impression, I assure you.

The second time we met, I was literally skating around a bunch of corpses, because I’m slightly crazy like that. Long story.

Obviously my second impression had just as much impact as my first. Because he fell head-over-heels in love with me in that instant.

Kidding. That last part is complete bullshit. Axle is far more complicated than insta-love nonsense. Which is one of my favorite things about him.

Everything about us is perfectly complicated and wonderfully disastrous.

It’s what every girl dreams of…as long as they’re as crazy as I am.

And I’m just crazy enough to hold on, because I don’t mind being the psycho chick in roller skates, who is flipping fate the bird when it tries to intervene again. It’s just one of my quirks. Turns out, I’m Axle’s brand of crazy too.

Life should be really freaking interesting. Or catastrophic. Or psychopathic.

I guess it depends on how much madness you can embrace.

I swear to God, CM Owen's novels are getting funnier and funnier. 
I couldn't breathe at one point because I was laughing that hard. I mean, who wouldn't when a girl in pig tails, short shorts, a candy top and skates, is roller skating around a bunch of dead bodies and pick-pocketing them....

But it's not just that, it's the way she acts, who she is and yeah, it's those skates that totally did me in. She reminded me of Harley Quinn but on skates. She was a complete nutter, but a funny, kind of sane one. 

I would never have pictured her with Axel, but seeing him in this book made me fall in love with him more. He'd always been mysterious. I loved we got to see a different side to him. 

I honestly can't wait to read more from this series, but then again, I'm waiting on new books in all her series. She's just that good of a writer. 
Plus, this book had all the action and drama I needed in a book. I love the suspense and the thrill of waiting to see what happens.  


Sunday, 26 February 2017

Valiant (Jokers Wrath MC) By Bella Jewel

I’ve known fear.

I’ve known pain.

I’ve known horror.

I’ve known all of it.

I’ve guarded myself as best I can.

I’ve hidden myself from him.

I’ve changed my name.

I’ve moved.

But he still haunts me.

One day, I’m sure he’ll find me again.

I don’t trust anybody.

I don’t believe in anybody.

I just want to be free.

Until I meet Jack.

I’m not looking for him, but that’s the thing about heroes.

You’re never looking for them.

He won’t take no for an answer.

He’ll battle past my fear, my pain, and my horror.

He’ll sweep into my life like a hurricane, and it won’t matter how hard I fight.

He’ll break past my walls.

And he’ll change me.

Maybe, he’ll even save me.

I think this one has to be the best book in the next generation series. I couldn't put it down. 

Baylee is running from her past, from her ex and with that, she's taken his pregnant sister with her to keep her safe from him. Its the only way. 
But the sister???? She's selfish, she's rude, she's completely ungrateful and more to the point, she has no respect for Baylee, whatsoever. 

I will admit, I was unsure at first about jack and Baylee being together, but they worked well. I actually grew to like them together a lot more as the book went on. 
She needed him and he needed her. 

I don't want to write a long review since it will ruin the book. It's one of those books you NEED to read. 

Worth the read. 
Great characters, great plot, great romance. 


Hunter (Black Angels MC Book 1) By A.E.Fisher

I spent years running from my past. Then, when my past comes knocking in the form of dark, delicious sin, I find myself caught up in a man I shouldn’t. My son's uncle. A dangerous biker. Not to mention, an overbearing Alpha male. 
Hunter is everything I need to escape from, yet I find myself wanting to stay. I know I shouldn't let myself or my son care for him, but I can't help wondering if maybe he's the one who can finally save me from my past.

The plan was simple. Find my nephew, bring him home, and raise him in the Black Angels like my brother would have wanted. But things never go as planned, like my nephew’s mother. My brother’s one-night stand. 
Mallory is spicy and sweet; one second she is mouthing off to me, and the next, she is moaning my name. The longer I’m with her, the harder she is to ignore. But she is hiding something while desperate to escape me, though I have her in my grasp. I will find out what she is hiding, and when I do, she will have nowhere left to run.

I felt so sorry for Mallory. At first I didn't understand why she ran or why she seemed to be hiding, but once I realised why she was the way she was, I felt for her. 
She has a little boy, the dad a biker, so when his brother comes knocking on her door, she's scared, wanting to flee, but she knows there's no use, he'll just find her again. 

Hunter is a little of a dick to her. At one point he locks her up in the car until she calms down after she gets mad that he lied to her, taking her son to a place she didn't want him being. 
Justified too. She is his mother after all. 
But that isn't the only dick move he makes towards, but even with his behaviour, you can't help but like him. He's so sexy and seeing him with the little boy is cute. 

Slowly, the heat between them gets hotter and they end up in bed, Hunter domineering her in a way she actually likes lol I actually loved seeing them together. They were the perfect fit and the more she spoke of her past and her time with his brother, I didn't really judge her for being with Hunter. As nice as his brother was, and I'm glad in the end we find out he was going to be doing the right thing, I think she found love in Hunter and not Infatuation like she did with his brother.  

But when she's attacked in their homes, things change for Hunter. He becomes more protective of her and his nephew. The drama and action is really good throughout the book. 

I also loved all the secondary characters, they were great. 

Can't wait to read more in the series. 


Tuesday, 13 December 2016

Bestie (Jokers Wrath #5) By Bella Jewel

Link To Come

The universe works in mysterious ways. 

Well, it did for me, anyway. 

It was like it knew that I needed him. 

It put him in my life during a time I honestly thought I couldn’t go on. 

He was broken. I was broken. 

We only had one thing to offer each other – friendship. 

A true, deep, incredible friendship. 

Laughter fixed us. 

Talking bonded us. 

He quickly became my everything. 

This is our story. 

I can’t promise it’s always perfect. 

It might make you laugh. 

It might make you cry. 

It might even make you fall in love. 

It's real. 

It's ours. 

It’s us. Besties. 

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.

First of all, I want to say, I understand heart break and not just your normal, 'my crush doesn't like me' heartbreak, I'm talking about real, painful, raw heartbreak. 
I emphasized with both characters, feeling both their heartaches. I understand sometimes you can be blind to love, never seeing what is bad and what is good, BUT... and this is a big but... Roman, as great and fun as he was, really done my head in. 
There's blind and then there's dumb. He was seriously dumb and for him to be with someone like Molly, I felt he needed to toughen up a notch. A hell of a lot. They fit perfectly as friends but as a couple, I think Molly could have done a lot better. Or maybe he needed to be written differently, I don't know but his character, as much as I loved him, didn't do it for me. He was sexy, charming, funny, and a badass, but then he opened his mouth, crying over his EX and I wanted to slap him. I literally wanted to bang his head off the wall because he really did come across as a dumb, whipped, idiot. He really did and I don't think that's what Bella wanted when writing this book as it states this is personal and close to her heart. 

That said, I think this book was too much about getting a message out there and not really a story. Instead of conversations flowing like they normally do in her books, this felt to scripted, stiff because she was trying to get her point across about relationships, how they progress, what they mean, how they break and the feelings we feel when we lose or make them. 
And speaking of, these points where made so many times, the same thing on repeat that I had to skip over it, wondering if I had just read the same page twice, but nope, I didn't.

And, then there's the fact he doesn't technically choose her. Molly, after being let down by her Ex and heartbroken, stood up to him, but when Roman does the same, she forgives him. I know that connection is there and it is strong but he honestly ruins it not choosing her. I don't know about anyone else, but I wouldn't want to become someone's second choice, especially compared to someone like his Ex anyway. 

I know I sound like a B.I.T.C.H but I'm just giving my honest opinion. And as touching and as loving as the book was, it was really not what I expected.  We do get a little sneak peak into another Joker's Wrath character and I have to say, his book sounds exciting and funny. 

I love Bella's writing, I have from the first book I bought, but this story line didn't do it for me. I feel so bad I didn't like it, but please, don't let that deter you from reading it. Give it a try because you might not feel the same way I did, and actually feel stronger towards the two characters. Because, like I said, they have a strong connection as besties and that's really what this story is all about.


Tuesday, 8 November 2016

Train's Clash (The Last Riders MC #9) By Jamie Begley

Image result for trains clash jamie begley

Beware of what you wish for; it might just come true.

Train swore never to let a woman get under his skin unless it meant forever, and forever only meant belonging to The Last Riders. He had believed his one brief sexual encounter with Killyama was a hit it and quit it. Instead, her green eyes haunted his memories. Then when he tried to convince the woman he was serious as his “more the merrier” lifestyle became a painful reminder of the life he lived, Killyama used his own club against him to keep him from what he wanted. 

Killyama was holding out for a man who could offer her forever, and Train wasn’t the forever kind of man. He was a Mr. Here and Now; the wicked warrior in her dreams. He might be a walking, talking sex machine, but she needed more than that. So, until he proved she was the only one sharing his bed, the only part of her body he was going to see was her ass walking away.

I'm only just getting around to writing this review since you can see on my page I've been updating profiles. 

It's actually pained me not to write this review sooner, because I have in face, read the book twice already I loved it that much. 

Train has been one of my favourite characters in the series, SHADE been first of course. I always saw him as a gentle soul, a man who values women and their beliefs and feels strongly against men hurting them. And although Train is still a man of honour so to speak, I never saw the same qualities as I did in the previous books in the series. I felt it was such a shame but the nonetheless, it didn't ruin the story for me. I just saw Train in a different way from the way I did in previous books. 

Now, Killyama on the other-hand was another story. Her character shown in this book. She put everyone else above anything else, including herself and it pained me to see the others let her. Especially Sex Piston who is supposedly her best friend. 

The story line was freaking amazing though. I'm not posting any spoilers but one part of the book will blow you the hell away. I was a freaking mess. I went from gasping in shock, to screaming ''no'' at the kindle, to being a sobbing mess. It was heartbreaking and heartwarming all at the same time. 
Jamie Begley always writes fantastic books but she really did outdo herself with Train's. I really enjoyed it and have put it on my top ten list of favourite reads for this year. 

That said, I can't wait to find out more about what ******** went through and his story and how everyone will handle it. It's going to be epic. 


PS, I have read that her next book will be Greers, so I'm excited for that too. Love those crazy boys. 

Saturday, 15 October 2016

Living Without (Hawks MC: Carolina Springs Charter Book Four) By Lila Rose

For the past four years, Nary May’s heart belonged to Saxon “Vicious” Black. Despite the painful reality of unrequited love, her feelings never strayed, no matter what he did. But there comes a time when surviving means letting go. 

What she never expected was to find herself fighting for her life and trying to survive a new form of torment threatening to swallow her whole. 

Saxon was broken. Never feeling worthy, the last thing he ever wanted to do was taint the woman he loved. But it was easier to push and walk away than leave himself open for more heartache. However, when faced with the possibility of losing Nary to the monsters that invade her dreams, the time to run was over.

To save her means risking it all, but to continue living without his heart was no longer an option.

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review...

What can I say, Lila Rose has out done herself with this one. It's so much different to her other Hawks MC novels. It's much darker, more detailed and so enrapturing, I couldn't put it down. 

Nary is kidnapped and taken by the MC's rival, Baxter who deals in sex trafficking. He takes her, abuse her and intends to sell her. The scenes were hard to read but thankfully, not too hard that I had to put it down. She got it just right and every single thing broke my heart. I had to cry for her because her pain... I felt it. I won't let on about anymore because it WILL ruin the story line for you. But let me stop by saying how good it was. 
For months the MC has been trying to find Baxter, but failed at every attempt, so the likely hood of them finding her were so slim. It got my heart racing, breaking and beating so hard I thought I'd die. I honestly... I can't even put into words how much I enjoyed reading their story. I knew it was going to be good, but this story was epic. It really was. The depth Lila went to was outstanding. It really was. 
I also enjoyed seeing old characters, new characters and more love interests within the MC. 
But more so, reading Nary and Saxon's story. I always knew he had a dark past, but reading it, and feeling what he went through, broke my heart. 
Saxon has always been one of my favourites, ever since he was introduced in Stoke's story. I always rooted for him and Nary but what I thought was a sudden crush, stems out to be so much more and it's all revealed into this book. I honestly can't wait to read more. I really can't. 
This series never seizes to amaze me but this story, the length and heart that went into the kidnapping, was just incredible. I felt everything. I wanted to kill the f****rs. 

There's also another MC brought into the mix, one I'm presuming is from another author that I just have to get my hands on. The men on that side of the pond sound just as hot. The character, Gypsy that was brought into the story was to die for. I fell in love so hard with his character. 
Not only that, but Melissa, who we meet in coming out as Julian's next door neighbour has a huge part to play in the story and she catches the eye of Dallas. 
They're banter had me in stitches. It give the dark, upsetting, heartwarming novel that much needed humor. 

And I say dark, it only lasts for 40% of the book, before the aftermath of what happens is turns to light of Nary and Saxon building their relationship. 

I really want to right more, talk about scenes that blew me away and what had me shivering, crying and laughing. I really do. But I won't ruin it for anyone. Yes, it's killing me to do so. 

But when it's released, please, don't hesitate to comment your thoughts on the novel. Let me know what you think of Nary and Saxon. 


Monday, 11 July 2016

Redemption Road (Vicious Cycle Book Two) By Katie Ashley

Looking for a walk on the wild side, Annabel Percy, the daughter of a powerful politician, starts dating a biker she knows is completely wrong for her. But she finds herself living a nightmare when she's kidnapped and transported into a hell on earth she never could have imagined.
Born and bred into the Hells Raiders MC, Nathaniel 'Reverend' Malloy lives and dies for his brothers. But when he becomes the unexpected savior of a rival club's captive, Rev makes it his personal mission to nurse Annabel back to health - and to shelter her from the nightmares that torment her.
Once Annabel heals, she's stunned to realize she is falling for the seductive man who saved her. Faced with their impossible attraction, can she accept the life he leads, or will Rev walk away from the only life he's ever known for the woman he was never supposed to love?

So far this one is my favourite. 
I loved Rev from the first book. He was different from all the other bikers but still held that rough edge about him. 

When the Hell Raiders go out on a personal mission to bring back the daughter of a club member, Rev finds Annabel instead. 
What she's been through, having been in a sex ring and owned by the boss for his own personal use, Annabel needs more than to heal from her physical wounds but from her emotional scars and Rev is the person to do that. He keeps her close, offering her protection and soon the two begin to bond, to share stories of their tragic pasts. 
When he finally reveals what happened to him as a young boy, my heart broke for him. No boy should have to go through what he did and I think he's brave for staying around knowing that happened to him. Me? I'd want to move far away. But once he tells Anna, he finds the courage to tell the others. 

Obviously, the man who had kept Anna for herself doesn't like his belongings been taken and wants revenge for what the Hell Raiders did to his compound. 

I loved the way the story flowed and how the characters came together. This story plotted far better than the first one. 


Vicious Cycle (Vicious Cycle Book One) By Katie Ashley

Deacon Malloy's life is dedicated to the Hell's Raiders motorcycle club. Tough, hard, and fast with his fists, he serves the group as sergeant at arms. But his devil-may-care approach to life is thrown for a loop when the five-year-old daughter he never knew existed lands on the club steps.
Alexandra Evans is devoted to all her students - but there's always been something about Willow Malloy that tugs at her heart. There's an aura of sadness about her, a girl in need of all the love Alexandra can give. When Willow stops coming to school, Alexandra's search leads to a clubhouse full of bikers...and a father hell-bent on keeping his daughter always within sight.
The moment Deacon sees Alexandra, he has to have her in his bed - and he's never met a woman yet who couldn't be persuaded. No matter how attracted she is to Deacon, Alexandra refuses to be just another conquest. But it's Deacon himself who could be seduced - into a brighter future for himself, his daughter, and the woman he's falling for against all odds.

The beginning of the book is brutal, it's hard, and gripping. We see what Willow goes through as a child, with a mother who did little to look after her. It was heartbreaking. 

I'm unsure whether I liked the story line or not. I felt it lacked the edgeness that some MC novels have. Sometimes I felt like it got a little boring, that Deacon was too big of a dick to Alex and his daughter. 

In the end, his relationship with both changed him, he became somewhat better. Deacon was roofless, he didn't care what he had to do to get where he wanted. 
I did like his brother though, the kind one, he was lovely. 

Alexandra is an independent woman, she thrives off being the good teacher, the nurturing woman and a good person. 
When she notices Willow, the new student, no longer turning up at school, she ends up going to investigate. That's how she finds out that Willow belongs to a biker club. Not one to shy away from being able to teach her kids, she offers up her tutoring skills to Deacon. 

I did find her attempts of getting Deacon's attention a little much because the big bad biker should have gone for what he wanted, not let the woman fight for him. 

The book had some intense moments, a lot of times where I had to keep reading to see what happened. But they were few and far between. 


Wednesday, 8 June 2016

Hostage (Predators MC Book Three) By Jamie Begley

The Enforcer’s Oath: Protect the club at all costs. 

Jackal made an enemy out of Penni when he kidnapped her years ago. He let her go, never imagining she would take a piece of his soul with her. Now protecting Penni against a former brother will force him to place the club against her once again. 

She may be the Hostage, but he’s the one held captive by the lust she refuses to admit binds them together. 

She thinks The Last Riders and another man will be all the protection she needs to end the tug of war between them. However, he’s never lost a battle, especially against a tiny blonde with an attitude, begging him to teach her that her place is under him. 

To end the battle, he’s going to have to reclaim the piece of soul she stole from him or claim a part of her soul as prisoner. 

When a predator takes you hostage, you’re his forever. 

I'm going to start with pure honesty, I don't think this book was as good as the others. Not the beginning anyway. But, I'm not holding it against Jamie Begley or her future releases because I love her work. 

The beginning felt slow, very... shall I say boring??? I don't know. I think it's more to do with the fact I didn't feel the connection between Penny and Jackel the way I did with the other characters from the surrounding series. 

She ends up getting herself kidnapped by a deadly MC and to help her get out alive and to make sure the club stays alive, Jackel is sent in to rescue her... well, help her, since he tells her she can't go until she identify's someone for the other MC. 

Anyway, it all goes to shit. She can't stand him. 

Oh... but then Shade and The Last riders step up and everything gets interesting. I loved the brotherly love Shade and Jackel had, they both got eyes for each other LOL (Every time they spoke one or both got a black eye) 
I loved how The Last Riders protected them all and the story was linked to Fat Louise's. It made more sense once I got to that part. 

A few things annoyed me with the book, One obviously being the zero connection Jackel and Penny had, well, they had sexual chemistry don't get me wrong, I just never felt the love between the two. The second part was a certain someone's betrayal to the group. I felt Bliss did far less before she got kicked out but this women nearly got them all killed. She thought she had no choice but she's been with them since the beginning and should have known they'd protect her. 

My favourite parts???

Killyamma getting owned by Penny. That had to have been the funniest thing ever. It seems, little Penny has a crush on Train. Who would have known? He is a beauty though, am I right? 
It ends up with the group fighting, it was so freaking funny. Loved it. 

Next up is Shade and Jackels constant love for each other. Funnyyyy.... 

The comments about the Porter boys been crazy... Loved these comments because after reading about them running over people, I kind of got pictured the nuts and crazy part LOL

A few things saddened me in this book too, especially with one of the characters who has been told she can't have kids. It's put a little barrier in this certain couples marriage. It's broke my heart. 

The next is the ducks... I literally cried. 

How the story plays out? You'll have to read to find out. 
After the slow start things did pick up and it's a 4* rating because of that and only that. I had no issues with the writing, or the story line, it's literally me picking at certain things in it as a blogger LOL 


PS, I'm glad that Jamie Begley is well again and back to writing, I have missed your novels... Stay well, Lisa's Book Reviews

Down and Out (Caroline Springs Charter Book Three) By Lila Rose

Link coming soon

Stricken by grief, Kalen “Dive” Brooks drifts away from his MC brethren, only having room in his life for his child. Worried for his son, he’ll do anything necessary to protect him, even if it’s admitting he needs help.

Alone and vulnerable, Philomena “Mena” McAdams has lost it all: her parents, her husband, her job and her home. Living out of her car, she’s learned life isn’t worth regrets. When Mena takes the job of nanny and housekeeper for Dive, she doesn’t know what she’s getting into, but neither does Dive.

Can they learn to love again when things are so down and out?

Down and out is the third book in the Caroline Spring series and I freaking loved it. 

Kalen AKA Dive is left to raise a baby, a baby he didn't know anything about until Simone went into labour. 

There's more to that part of the story, but you're going to have to read it for answers. My view on it???? Well, lets just say, heartbreak aside, I think Simone was selfish and irresponsible to get pregnant in the first place. She did it for reasons... but still, SELFISH reasons. 
I'm surprised Kalen didn't ask himself if the reason she was so quick at forgiving him after she made it clear she didn't like him anymore, is because she was using him, knowing he'd never tell her no. 
Yeah, I believe she grew feelings for him, but were they real??? She wanted to leave apart of herself in this world but it never said anything about having apart Kalen and her left before she left. It broke my heart because I was so torn on whether I should like her or hate her. 
She put Kalen in such a difficult situation, never giving him an explanation or time for him to understand and its just another thing to add selfish under. 

Kalen changed after this, no longer was he the fun joker. He took a break from the MC, moving miles away, just him and his boy. He didn't date, move on and he never let anyone in. 
Not even sweet, Mena when she arrived. I loved her character from the start. She was dealt with such a hard situation and I felt for her, I really did. 

I'm also glad he didn't find out sooner that she was living out of her car. I think Lila timed him finding out perfectly, their connection was already there, it just needed an extra push. 

All in all, I loved how this book progressed from something sad and tragic, to something so beautiful it made you want to cry for them. The two were made for each other and no matter how tough the road was for them, they pulled through together, both understand each others losses. 
And as for the lil man in their life, he was so adorable. 

Last but not least, secondary characters.... Please keep Kalen's mom in the picture, I freaking loved her. She was a hoot. 
I was also glad Julian and Matty were in this book, along with others. We get to meet their daughter and of course, where there's Julian, there's drama LOL The funny kind, not the gun kind. It was so funny. I could have died right along with Mena with embarrassment. It had me crying with laughter. 

Loved this book and I cannot wait for Saxons book. I've been wanting this book for so long it's driving me crazy. I'll probably get that excited I'll pass out LOL


Well done Lila Rose again for such an amazing experience.  

Tuesday, 17 May 2016

Manacle (MC Sinners Next Generation #3) by Bella Jewel

I’ve loved Danny since I was five. 
He’s loved me longer. 
It seemed destined that we would be together, it seemed like the stars had aligned. 
Then we grew up and life got in the way. 
He’s stepping up to be president of the Motorcycle club we grew up in. 
And I want no part in it. 
I want to be free, to travel the world and experience life without violence. 
He’s not willing to give up the club. 
I’m not willing to be an old lady. 
But giving him up is like losing a part of myself. 
Love isn’t easy. 
Life certainly never is. 
The manacles he has wrapped around me will hold me to him. 
No matter how hard I try to run.

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

I LOVE this series and I'm so sad that this is the last one we'll be getting from the MC Sinner's generation. I'm just glad it's not the last we'll hear from them. 

Danny and Skye have been in love for so long that I think they took each other for granted. 
Danny puts all this blame on Skye, but I could see where she was coming from. He expected her to make all these sacrifices when he couldn't even do it for her. To me, it didn't seem right that she gets all the blame, right to the end. 
It frustrated me at times, because even though they knew they loved each other and that Danny knew Skye better than she knew herself, neither really pushed the other hard enough to stay. 

My heart broke on more than one occasion for Skye. She was so lost, so torn, and honestly just wanted to live a safe, normal life. It takes a lot for them to realise what they really want.

What broke my heart the most was knowing WHO the club will end with, MC Sinners no longer an MC. :( That really hurt lol It was like a new era, a new beginning, but a sad ending. I wish this series would carry on forever. 

I am loving all the new generation kids.

I'm so glad I was gifted an ARC of Manacle. And I'll be reading it again once it's released as I have my pre-ordered ebook copy. I can't wait to find out what else Bella Jewel has install for us, especially when we're given a little tease on the next's books couple. I'm like, ahhhhhh...

Saturday, 30 April 2016

The Rage (Hell's Disciples #3) By Jaci J

They say love comes in all shapes and sizes, and is found in the most unexpected places. I wasn't looking for anything when I knocked on that big, wooden door, but what I got was a rude ass, leather wearing biker who made me feel, and want things I never thought were possible. 

Rampage is crude, rude, and tough. He’s everything I’m not, but he’s everything I need. He’s my strength when I’m weak, my shoulder to lean on when the weight of my world gets too heavy. He’s my voice when I don’t have one, and he holds me up when I need it the most. 

Love is for the weak. It does nothing but hurt your pathetic feelings, break your weak little heart, and give you the worst f*****g headache of your life. If you let that shit in, it will break what was never broken in the first place, and now it's trying to sneak in and break me. A little smartass angel has found a way to work her way in without permission, wreaking havoc on my rule of never loving anyone. 

Lailah is the soft to my hard, the social to my antisocial, the innocent to my corrupt, and the sweet to my mean. She’s the eternal optimist when it comes to love, and without even knowing she's doing it, she’s trying to make me a goddamn believer. I may not believe in love, but I do believe in Lailah. She’s the calm to my rage, and that is what I do I believe in. 

I've had a fascination with Rampage from the start. There was just something about the man who couldn't be beat. Maybe it's that every girl wants to tame the unattainable? who knows. 
All I know is that he was sexy, bad, dangerous and very loyal to Lil, who he calls sis. 

We meet Lailah in the previous book. The only thing is, they call her Lala, and I know I'm probably, okay, most likely, pronouncing it wrong, but every time I read her name it sounded like LA LA. Yes, a freaking teletubie. So you can imagine my reaction LOL! In the end I stuck with how her name like Lay La. 

I knew Lailah and Rampage would get together, the second book kind of ruined that shit. Especially since this ending would have had me in tears had I not read that bloody second book. I still cried, don't get me wrong, but I knew the outcome. There wasn't any surprise or build up.

Lailah is a quiet girl with obvious secrets she keeps to herself. She fitted right in with the MC and made herself close to Rampage from the start. They were drawn to each other and it was so sweet seeing how he saw her. Honestly, it's like this big, bad, dangerous beast, was looking at a delicate flower, or a baby. He really looks after her and it's so incredibly sweet I must have awed a million times. It's not even sweet things that he does, it's the way he does them and what he does. I don't know. I just loved the way he was with her and no one else. 

Their story isn't sweet, it isn't rushed and it's a rocky road for both of them. Not only do they have issues, but Lailah has the biggest. I wish this book didn't end. It ended where we don't get the full story which was disappointing. 

So, to me moaning again. Lailah comes across as good girl. It's even mentioned a few times that she's fresh, she's innocent, kind, loving, caring and an angel. 
We even get to see this. 
But then she's hurt and she's all big ear to ear smiles. Gods, honest truth. It's like she belonged in an asylum. 
She even bashes in someone's head and doesn't blink. She just steps over that fucker and ignores the brain splatter all over her to go see if her man is okay. Then, and yes, this happened, she's back to freaking smiles. Like nothing happened. Like she didn't kill two people with a baseball bat. I actually felt a little scared for Rampage lol 
I could see the author was trying to match them together. Both killers. Both had whores as mothers and dead beat dads. They raised themselves and have no aversion to hurting people then act like it didn't happen. 

I think that's why the ending kind of contradicted everything I knew. She killed not only two people with a baseball bat, but she blows someones brains out when they're on top of her. She did all of that, but when it came to the ending, to save herself and the others around her she chose to leave, not end the life that was actually hurting her. It's not as if he was bigger than her because I'm sure it said he was only a few inches taller and was just as skinny because of the drugs he takes. 
I may not be making sense, but you read it, this review will LOL

So, if you read it and would like to comment on what you thought about Lailah, just post in the comments below. I love hearing from you all and reading what you all think, so make sure you get in touch. 


Crash and Burn (Hell's Disciples #2) By Jaci J

It's a constant battle between us now. I give, and he just takes, and we can't go on like this. 

Saying that we've been through a lot is an understatement of a lifetime. After everything that we had overcome, we were here, together and alive. 

In the aftermath of all the devastation we had endured, I find myself fighting a new, yet different battle with the one person who came to save me because he loved me that much. This is the man that now fights me. 

He's not the same man since my attack and I don't think that man will ever come back to me. He is becoming my worst nightmare, but I will not give up on us, no matter what he tries to do... 

I want to hate her as much as I love her, and I'm willing to take from her 'till she has nothing left to give, 'till it ends up killing us both. 

I push her away, but I keep pulling her back 'cause I don't know how to fucking let her go. I love her so much, it physically hurts. I can't look at her, I can't touch her and I can't even stand to fuck her. I can't give her anything anymore, and I hate myself for it. 

I keep her here, knowing I don't deserve her, but I'm gonna keep hurting her. I know I'm gonna lose her and she's gonna hate me, but I'll be damned if I can let her be without me, no matter how bad this shit will get... 
What do you do when you just can't find your way back from so much pain? You share it, and you will make it hurt. 

Just going to blurt out the worst. Yes there were a few errors through the book but nothing major. I just found the book repeated it self over and over and over again. It didn't let up. It was like the author needed to fill in the pages to make it a novel. Honestly, it kept going on and on and on and there wasn't much interaction through the book, mostly them thinking and repeating the same shit.

I wouldn't read this book if you liked Tank in the first book. 

For me this ruined their relationship. It was built on a strong foundation in the first book and to me, they were rock solid. 

Tank in this book is a complete and utter BABY!!! 

OMG!!! He's literally threw his dummy out of the pram over Lil getting attacked. He hates her because of it. He can't look at her without being reminded of what they did to HER.
There is one thing with being upset over something that happened that you could have prevented, but another to be upset with someone who had no control over being attacked. 

That shit didn't fly.

Not only did he make her feel like crap about it, but he also CHEATS on her. Yes, CHEATS. She even walks in on that, but it wasn't the first time he tried to get some off a club whore. So to me, even though he couldn't get up before with one, it's still classed as cheating.

Tank becomes reliant on alcohol and is a complete dick to Lil all the way through. It made me really think about their relationship and what it foundation it was built on. All I can see now when I think of Tank is a coward, a baby, and a whimp. I don't see a badass biker. I see a man those bikers would crush with their pinkie finger. It honestly ruined the whole relationship for me. 

Oh, and worst of all, she stays. She puts up with it. Even when she leaves she's running back and sleeping with him. It made me rething her whole character too. 

The only thing I took from this book was the ending and what brings them back together. I didn't need to really know anything in this book for me to read the next one, which was why I read it in the first place. I had read you needed to read this one to understand book three. Nope. You don't. 

1* I'm so sad about this, like really sad. This is for the story plot. This isn't about the authors work, this is literally my view on the story line. I don't think the author needed to tear the couple apart. Now, if it was the other way around and it was Lil acting out, I would have totally enjoyed reading Tank bring her back to herself and to pull her through it. That would have been given a 5*