Showing posts with label Dark. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Dark. Show all posts

Thursday, 10 August 2017

The Darker Side Of Fiction

Darker romance novels are very controversial amongst us readers. We either love it, hate it, or are on the fence. There's no way around it. 
Some issues are so much easier to pretend aren't real. Because books are FICTION. They may be made up of true events, but they are stories.
But reading a darker novel doesn't make you a bad person, the same as writing one doesn't make you one either. 

I do understand a line must be drawn when it comes to certain matters. I do. I may not like reading certain topics, and I don't see how certain sinister topics can be entertaining... but that's MY opinion. I wouldn't judge a person for reading it and I wouldn't judge an author for writing it. 

That said, with all the controversial debates going on, I thought I could shed some light on certain questions. So, I posted a few questions on my FB page, and had some pretty interesting replies from some Darker Romance authors. 

And for those who love the darker read, I'll be posting a few favourites from some readers. 

1) What makes you think of something so dark and twisted?
2) What goes through your mind when writing a dark scene? (Another question, simular) Do you picture the scene your writing?
3) Do you put warnings on your books or blurbs?
4) Do you advertise support groups for other victims of the crimes your write?
5) Do you prefer writing dark reads because it's so out there, so imaginative and a challenge or because of something else? (simular question) why did you choose to write dark romance?

Here are some replies, I had...

Charlotte Hart writes dark, erotica romance novels. She answered...
I don't know. The voices come and then the story follows. It's really as simple as that.
2 - Nothing other than the story going through my mind. I don't question the actions or language, nor do I censor it. I might change it up in editing, depending on the finished story, but more than often not it stays the same. Yes, I picture the story, in graphic detail. It's the way it comes to me.
3 - Nothing detailed. None other than Dark Bdsm, contains violence, or something simular.
4 - No.
5 - I've been led darker by the characters that have come to me, or by the way the story pans out. I never plot or know my story before it gets written, so what comes just comes. I'm not sure that they feel like a challenge, they're simply the tales that resonate in my mind reasonably easily. Writing without 'darker' would probably be more challenging to me.

Kirsty-Anne Still, she writes romantic suspense with dark themes. She answered...

1) I don't have a real reason. It tends to just be the story in my head. Can't stop it and don't try to dilute it.
2) I actually wonder if it's too dark or not enough. Sometimes I get so lost in the characters that I blind myself to whether or not it's a real dark read or has dark themes 🙈😂
3) I put broad warnings and sometimes list what sort of subject matter it involves but sometimes I hate myself for it!!
4) no. To be honest, it's not something I've thought of before.
5) I find it quite exciting to write dark. It's quite a thrilling experience. Almost because you can push yourself more to see just how dark you can go. I've always had books with dark themes but not all are as dark as the one before or after. I probably shouldn't say I find it fun to write but I love a good challenge!

Next up, is LP Lovell. She's writes dark, twisted, novels. She answered, in Lauren typical fashion (LOL)...

I just like dark characters. I like to play with the human mind and work without emotional limitations such as a conscience. When I read I don't want a normal/ conceivable situation to me. I want the extreme escapism, I like to read and feel my heart beating in my chest because the situations are so dangerous and exciting that I wish I could experience it just for the thrill. I want to read that, so I write it. On a serious note, I think to write dark, truly dark, you have to have been through some shit. You have to have seen the ugly side of life and use it. I don't do support groups and shit, because my books are often a situation where any hardships have turned the character into a serial killer etc. I put a warning on Absolution because it was Satans book, but other than that...I say they're dark. Enter at your own risk. I won't hold your hand.

Stephanie Farrant isn't yet a published author, but she is writing her first novel. She had this to say when I posted the questions...

So, I'm not an author yet, I'm hopefully publishing something in October. But as I do write some dark scenes, I wanted to answer. I hope that's ok.

1) Different things. Sometimes it's from a dream. Sometimes it's from my own experiences.
2) When I'm writing a dark scene, my mind is conpletely there. My heart is pounding and I'm emotionally feeling what my characters are going through. And yes I do picture it.
3) As I don't have a published book yet I can't answer. And my first release will be an anthology, so that will be up to the publisher.
4) Again, that will be something decided by my publisher.
5) I write dark things (I really am mean to my characters) for a couple of reasons. One is that as a reader, I love reading angst. I love to feel my stomach in knots, my heart pound, and in the truly great books, feel nauseated. So I want to write what I would like to read. The second reason is because it helps me deal with things that have happened in my past. It's kind of like therapy. I put my characters through hell because I've made them strong enough to endure.

Lavina Urban, an author I haven't read from, but is on my TBR had this touching comment to make. It actually brought tears to my eyes, because sometimes, the darker side of fiction isn't just about brutality. It can be about LIFE. As a victim of domestic abuse, my story was dark, it was real and writing it killed me. Here's what she had to say.

I was currently working on a book, before my diagnosis, and I got near the end. Now let's initially forget my diagnosis (we'll get to that) as it is not related to the story, but I pictured everything and honestly it destroyed me. I felt physically sick. I would cry. It hurt to write but I felt compelled to write it as the story had plagued me for a year, which in turn gets to my diagnosis. Now, I will eventually finish the book but for right now - for me and my readers - I can't write it because the title is 'Today I Died.' Can you imagine if I published that with everything I am going through? Now before my diagnosis I purposely got phone numbers for every single single suicide helpline from across the world and I put them in the back of the book. Suicide can be a taboo subject but this book wanted to be written and even though I am 10K words away from the end I will not go back to it until I am in remission for awhile. Currently I do not wake up with the same line 'Today I Died' playing over and over and over again. Part of me thinks that even though this story needed to be written it was also an underlying message to me xx

Stevie J. Cole, another dark romance writer who also co writes with LP Lovell answered. These two, when writing together, are so funny. If you follow either on FB, you'll know they're quiet the pair and come up with some amazing stories together. I'm still unsure who's the side kick in the duo because to be honest, they're as crazy as each other. In a good kind of way. 

1) Since I was 14, I've written dark stuff. It's just where my plots go. They can start out nice and sweet, but then the next thing you know, someone's a murderer or a psychopath. Also, I have always been drawn to darker storylines. Stephen King was my favorite growing up. 2)Yes, anytime I write, it's like watching a movie. 3) I have only put a warning on one, Absolution, and that is because it had religious themes and abuse and crazy stuff, like Satan just barfed it up on paper. 4) No 5) I grew up in organized crime family. My normal was not rainbows and kittens. Please let me clarify, my parents were amazing parents and I was sheltered from a lot of things, but I was nearly kidnapped three times growing up and saw stuff people usually only see in movies. I also feel like there is a lot of beautiful prose in showing love within such depravity. It's a contradiction of the greatest kind, but shows how strong love truly is. Plus, I like the thrill. You never know what a character will do because there are no limitations, and the psychology of it all is fascinating. I don't agree with some of the things my characters do, but they are characters, and getting all that stuff out of my head keeps my nightmares away.

JC Emery (Christina Emery) who I've read and loved, said...

1)Dark is therapeutic for me. I get my damage out by creating situations I can control. I decide exactly how much and how far it needs to go. We don't get that kind of control as real-life victims.
2) Every. Single. Detail. I place myself in the character's shoes and mentally play through every single moment.
3)Both. It's a general content warning and it's marketed as a dark book. I don't do specific trigger warnings, but am always available to tell a reader if I think the book isn't for them.
4)Not support groups, but organizations for sure. When I released Rev (which has a violent and detailed rape scene in it), I supported RAINN by donating a portion of the proceeds from the release. I'm also a vocal advocate for mental health, domestic violence, and sexual assault awareness. These are real crimes with real victims and I never want my readers to forget that.

5) Do you prefer writing dark reads because it's so out there, so imaginative and a challenge or because of something else? (simular question) why did you choose to write dark romance?
I think it chose me, not the other way around. My first few books weren't dark and while I always enjoyed darker stories, I didn't realize how therapeutic writing them would be. Now, I just tell the stories I needed to read, but hadn't been written and I do my best to do so in a way that 'vulnerable me' would be able to benefit from.

Chelsea Cameron  Also commented...

1. My darkest book was therapy for a place I was at in my mood and I wanted to push myself. 2. Yes, I picture it like a vivid movie. 3. Yes, I have a warning. I also have a 'dark' book that was banned permanently on Google Play and Amazon required me to put it in Psychological Thriller to pass the content review as it violates terms of service in romance/erotica. 4. I advertise different support groups for different reasons in different books. I don't have a set way to promote such things but I believe in support. 5. I chose to write my darkest to push myself to a limit I wasn't sure I could do. It was a challenge to myself to go beyond a regular romance and break my own formula.

I also asked fellow readers, authors and bloggers who they're favourite Dark Romance Novels were. 

  • Going Under By S. Walden  This was my choice of novel, even though I have many favourites. But for some reason, when some asks me to recommend a dark read, this always pops in my head. And I don't mean blood and guts but because of the content. It's about a girl who's friend commits suicide because she was raped. The friend, then goes 'undercover' as such at a new school, to get her friend some justice. But it doesn't turn out that way for her. But the detail, the pain, the intensity of the book and how sick I felt reading a certain scene, always stuck with me. I've now highlighted that particular passage so I know never to read it. But my thoughts on her writing and how hard that must be, and then the author note at the end, it always stayed with me. And for a book to do that, you know that author has talent. Here's my Review Lisa Guzman also loves this author.
  • Tears of Tess (Monsters of the Dark #1) By Pepper Winters Jessica chose this one, she said it's dark and very compelling. I've not read it, but a few other people on my blog also mentioned this series.
  • Pennies (Dollar #1) By Pepper Winters Another Book by Pepper. Charlotte recommends this series. 
  • All The Bright Places By Jennifer Niven ER recommends this one. It's another I haven't read, but I'm sure I'll add it to my TBR.
  • Screaming In Silence By Lydia Kelly Dianna recommends this, stating it was one of her first dark reads. 
  • Pretty Stolen Dolls By Ker Dukey and K. Webster This one was recommended by Stephanie and Charlotte. Vicki also loves this series. I've been told this one is really good.
  • Facade (Deception #1) By Ker Dukey and DH Sidebottom Charlotte has been trying to get me to read this one for ages, but I have to be in the mood for Dark reads. She HIGHLY recommends this one. 
  • Madeline Abducted (Estate Series #1) By M.S.Willis Suzie recommends this one. The blurb.... Holy crap. She's kidnapped by the father. But she's then gifted to the son, who wanted NOTHING to do with his fathers estate or the slaves in it. But then she comes... UH OH. Sounds interesting. Might have to check this one out.
  • Raze By Tillie Cole Kaz recommended this one and it's one I would recommend too. I loved it. Another favourite series from Tillie Cole is The Hades Hangmen. It Ain't me, Babe #1 It's MC with a cult background, and a lot of dark thrown in. 
  • Tiger Shark By LP Lovell This is a taboo erotica novel and I can remember this being released. People were going NUTS for it and loving it. 
  • Wrong By LP Lovell and Stevie J. Cole
  • The Watcher By Bella Jewel  This one is new to me, and I've just written a review on it. I loved it. The suspense was killing me. 
  • Comfort Food By Kitty Thomas  Louise's top read. I've never read this one.
  • Mafia Captive By Kitty Thomas  
  • Tied By Carian Cole Another recently read one, that really shook me up. She was kidnapped as a young girl, kept in a basement where she was kept and abused. Until...
  • The Silver Swan I love this series. And although it's dark, its a manageable dark for those who can only take so much. It's lighter than most. Mostly, the first one is about a douche bag who knows how to turn her on.
  • Corrupt by Penelope Douglas  Again, this isn't dark as in gory or disturbing. It's just dark men who get what they want. They're jerks to her. It's a tame dark shall we say, but the men in it are as dark as they come. Can't wait for more from these characters. 
  • Slammer By Tabatha Vargo Now THIS book is dark and twisted. He's in jail and well, the nurse thinks his innocent... But IS he. And well, you did see I wrote jail right? Only bad shit can happen in there. 
  • Wanderlust By Skye Warren  I've not read this one yet. It's been on my TBR for a while. The female spends a night in a motel and a trucker, who sees her, wants her and kidnaps her to keep her. Other dark reads by this author are...
  • Prisoner By Skye Warren
  • Don't let Go By Skye Warren
  • Little Doll By Melissa Jane This one was just recommended and I have to agree. This story was gritty, raw and so disturbing. But for some reason, it lulled me into it and I couldn't put it down. I even picked up book two... It's a mafia, cartel novel and I wouldn't call it romance, but it's as close as these characters are going to get. It was soooo good. Rated 5* by me.
  • The Nines By Dakota Madison. I don't know what happened with the author, but it's not under her name. I don't want to put link that did come up, just in case it's been stolen by someone else. 
  • Gypsy Brothers By Lilli St Germain  The link is for the entire series on kindle. I remember when I first read this and thought WTF am I reading. And although each books was only a novella, it felt like they went on forever. It was so gritty, so raw and sinister. But I kept reading, because I NEEDED her to get her revenge. I remember talking to Lilli. She told me which scenes to not read in the end books. When she sleeps with HIM in the beginning, I could deal, it was her choice. But the minute that choice got taken away, I couldn't read and that's where the lovely Lilli came in and let me know which scene would be the hardest. She was so lovely about it. 
  • The Tied Man By Tabitha McGowan Oh lord, I remember this book. It made me physically sick. But for some reason, I went in blind, and remember wishing I never started it. But I had to know what happened to the Tied Man. He's basically a sex slave and the things he's made to do, is unspeakable. Really sick worthy. This one is REALLY DARK. 
  • Only Pretend By Nora Flite OHHH, If you like dark and twisted, you'll love this one. She's out on the two in vegas and wake up in another country.
  • Twist Me By Anna Zaires Complete series and another good dark read
  • Hero By Leighton Del Mia A love hate relationship will happen with the heroin. Strong content. 
  • Raw By Bella Aurora I SO need to read book two.
  • Fear Of Falling By S. Jennings
  • After The Storm By M. Stratton Loved the mystery of this series. He's a serial rapist/killer and she's the only victim to survive and now he wants to the finish the job. The plot was so good. He was evil, pure evil. 
  • Captive In The Dark By CJ Roberts 
  • Whispers and Roars By K. Webster
  • Consequences By Aleatha Romig suspense thriller
  • Insidious By Aleatha Romig
  • Betrayed By Wodek Hawkinson
  • Flawed By Kate Avelynn This one is VERY controversal. She makes a pact with her brother to save her from her father. But when, in return, he asks for her affection, she gives it, freely. But when Sam, her brothers best friend comes into the picture, they realise just how unstable her brother is. 
  • Abduction By Varian Krylov This one sounds really dark. Jenn recommended this one, saying she read it back in 2009 and still remembers it. Ohhhh.
  • Sold By Leslie Sansom
  • Seeing White By Charlotte E Hart
  • The Life of Anna By Marissa Honeycutt This one is recommended by Liz
  • The Dark Light Of Day By TM Frazier
  • Dark Lover By J R Ward
Please comment if you have any recommendations 

Tuesday, 8 August 2017

The Watcher By Bella Jewel

Seven years ago, Marlie Jacobson was kidnapped by a serial killer—and lived to tell about it. But it was actually her mother who told the story, in a bestselling book that made Marlie famous. Today, she’s known as the girl who slayed a killer. The one who got away. Now, there’s just one thing Marlie wants to get away from: her past. But when her little sister disappears, her worst fears come rushing back—with a vengeance…

Kenai Michelson is a world-renowned investigator. Dark, brooding, and dangerously good-looking, he’s the kind of man Marlie would normally avoid at all costs. But Kenai is her only hope in finding her missing sister. Together, Kenai and Marlie follow a trail of clues that leads them toward the truth—and into each other’s arms. As her trust in Kenai grows, so does their fierce connection. But will their desire turn deadly as they close in on a ruthless enemy who’s watching their every move?

THIS book....
My God, I couldn't put it down. 

There's so much to the story. So, so, so much. 
Marlie was kidnapped by a serial killer years ago. She's only victim of his to survive. She kills him and escapes. 
But when her sister is suddenly is taken she comes back home to find her. 
She's determined it's something to do with her killer, but that can't be right, she killed him. 

So she goes to Kenai Michelson, who ends up being more connected to Marlie than she realises. He's a moody bugger, but still, sexy as hell. 
The connections were just epic, and intense. 
I couldn't put the book down. 
This one was the best out of 72 Hours and Wild Child. I'm hoping Blind Date will just be as good. 

I guessed some things towards the end, but it still surprised me. 

Make sure you check this out. It's intense, gripping, and the two characters, are hot as hell together.


Saturday, 5 August 2017

Tied (Devil Wolves #2) By Carian Cole

He was the myth and the legend of our small town. But no one knew the truth... except me.

My childhood was stolen by a monster. I’ve forgotten what love feels like. What happiness feels like. What hope feels like. I am numb.

He’s possibly as damaged as I am. Maybe even more. Scarred just as much on the inside as the outside. Just like me. He doesn’t speak. He doesn’t smile. He hides in the woods like an animal. I should be scared of him. But I’m not. He’s the only one that has ever made me feel. And I want to make him feel, too. 

As you know from my review on Torn, I wanted to know more about Ty. I wanted to know what made him the town monster...
He isn't a monster, just someone who was hurt. 

Holly's and Tys story wrecked me from beginning to end. It really did. Every page was just full of emotion, of heartache and second chances. 
Because, let's face it, everyone deserves a second chance, especially in life, and both of these characters are given that... And with each other.

And despite their suffering, their pasts and sorrow, they still manage to find solace and peace with each other. I think that's what truly made the story beautiful. Because everything else was just too much to bare. 

I loved these characters, and wouldn't mind reading more. It grips you from the beginning and the things that come together towards the end? Gasp worthy. 

Really loved this one by Carian Cole. It's definitely my favourite book of hers.


Tuesday, 18 July 2017

The Broken Puppet (The Kings Elite #2) By Amo Jones

“I thought I knew who I was, but I was wrong.”

The Silver Swan
- 1. A girl who is tarnished. Tainted. One who does not fit into the confinement of legend.
The Silver Swan
-2. Madison Montgomery.

I was lied to.
I was cheated.
Resigned to pick up the scraps of empty memories and disarrayed thoughts, I left. After finally cutting the strings of manipulation, I resorted to do what I’ve done since I was a child, something my father drilled into my brain since I could handle my first rifle.
I’m a mere shadow of the girl they all knew.
Lies and deceit change you. They alter your entire outlook on life.
I’m Madison Montgomery, and I want to play a game.
Here’s what happens when I win.

Riddle me this, Mads.
What goes bump in the night,
but is something you can’t see with sight?
You may run, and you may hide.
If by happily ever after, you mean Bonnie & Clyde.

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

When I read the first book, The Silver Swan, I couldn't stop raving about it for weeks. I kept having theories over what was happening and who was who. And this book ended no differently. 

In my last review, I'm pretty sure I mentioned thinking it was supernatural, because of their reference to 'PUPS' and 'alpha' and so on, it made me believe they were a pack of wolves. And hey, they've been called that a time or two from some of the female characters. So, my theory is still out there on that one LOL I'm not going to drop it. 
My latest theory is that they are a cult. Which would clearly explain the virgin sacrifices etc. Or they're just really crappy mafia people. It could either way LOL They could just be sick assholes.

I have to mention also, that this book is darker than the other one. It has little glimpses into Sam's past and it's not pretty. It's dark, it's rough and it's sickening. 
But something inside her switched on after seeing what she did in the last book and she's started to remember little bits and pieces.

The ONE and ONLY thing that annoys me with this book is Sammy. I feel like we could stab her in the chest and she'd still question if you were good or bad or if she can trust you or not. SAMMY, THEY ARE ALL UNTRUSTWORTHY. 
But each and every time she walks right into it. Literally. I have to roll my eyes because it's been slapped in her face so many times, I don't even know why she goes along with them. I don't get it. I really don't. It just makes her character look really dumb and stupid when in the rest of the parts, she's actually pretty level headed and nice. 
It's the only part that doesn't fit the story. She's got her wits about her the rest of the time but when it comes to the 'pack of wolves' she's a blonde bimbo with the age capacity of a five-year old.

The thing I love the most about the series. The suspense. It gets to me every time and the not knowing. I feel like I have twenty-million more questions. And I've already written down my predictions on the ending of this one. Only time will tell if I'm right or wrong. 

Even with that characteristic trait dilemma, I still loved the story. I have to make something up in my head when she does something stupid. Like they forced her or she didn't just say that after they just did the worst possible thing. 
And hey, why doesn't she PHONE THE BLOODY POLICE. 

Can you tell how worked up I get over the book???? LOL

Amo Jones is an amazing writer. This story is intense, it's dark and compelling. I can't wait for the third in the series. The last one. *squeal* 


Sunday, 26 February 2017

Lucca (Made Men #4) By Sarah Brianne

Lucca was made the underboss, being what nightmares are made of.
Chloe was scarred by her past, learning too young that nightmares are real.
He has waited long enough to claim her soul, but he must take it from the devil first.
Her soul might have been better off claimed by the devil.
The only way to save her from her past is to delve into his.
The world as she knows it will come crashing down.

I'm the fu**ing boogieman.
I'm just a fu**ing freak.

Okay, as you know, I was NOT TEAMLUCCA, I was totally TEAMAMO. 

But I didn't even get halfway through the book before I was swayed by Lucca and his love for Chloe. 
I really loved him. He was incredibly charming in his own dangerous way and I couldn't put it down. 

Chloe reacted to Lucca in a way she really needed too. He's perfect for her. Yeah, he went about getting her the wrong way but it was the ONLY way. I couldn't see that at first but then as the story progressed... okay, as the story began, I understood. 

We get to know Lucca on another level. He's not such a mystery in this book and we get to see the real him, the man behind the cold mask. And I have to say, I'm now Team Lucca. I just hope Amo gets his own story soon. I hate knowing he's lost Chloe, but he didn't love her the way Lucca did.

Look at me... LOL 
Read my CHLOE review and you'll see how against Lucca I was LOL I'm not singing a new tune and I couldn't care less aha He really did knock me sideways. Sarah Brianne has really blew us away with this one. She's changed so many minds and for a moment, I didnt think mine could be swayed LOL 

The book is brilliant, the plot much better and although I would have liked to have skipped the rehashing past stuff, I still enjoyed the story. 
The ending was fantastic. 


Saturday, 15 October 2016

Living Without (Hawks MC: Carolina Springs Charter Book Four) By Lila Rose

For the past four years, Nary May’s heart belonged to Saxon “Vicious” Black. Despite the painful reality of unrequited love, her feelings never strayed, no matter what he did. But there comes a time when surviving means letting go. 

What she never expected was to find herself fighting for her life and trying to survive a new form of torment threatening to swallow her whole. 

Saxon was broken. Never feeling worthy, the last thing he ever wanted to do was taint the woman he loved. But it was easier to push and walk away than leave himself open for more heartache. However, when faced with the possibility of losing Nary to the monsters that invade her dreams, the time to run was over.

To save her means risking it all, but to continue living without his heart was no longer an option.

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review...

What can I say, Lila Rose has out done herself with this one. It's so much different to her other Hawks MC novels. It's much darker, more detailed and so enrapturing, I couldn't put it down. 

Nary is kidnapped and taken by the MC's rival, Baxter who deals in sex trafficking. He takes her, abuse her and intends to sell her. The scenes were hard to read but thankfully, not too hard that I had to put it down. She got it just right and every single thing broke my heart. I had to cry for her because her pain... I felt it. I won't let on about anymore because it WILL ruin the story line for you. But let me stop by saying how good it was. 
For months the MC has been trying to find Baxter, but failed at every attempt, so the likely hood of them finding her were so slim. It got my heart racing, breaking and beating so hard I thought I'd die. I honestly... I can't even put into words how much I enjoyed reading their story. I knew it was going to be good, but this story was epic. It really was. The depth Lila went to was outstanding. It really was. 
I also enjoyed seeing old characters, new characters and more love interests within the MC. 
But more so, reading Nary and Saxon's story. I always knew he had a dark past, but reading it, and feeling what he went through, broke my heart. 
Saxon has always been one of my favourites, ever since he was introduced in Stoke's story. I always rooted for him and Nary but what I thought was a sudden crush, stems out to be so much more and it's all revealed into this book. I honestly can't wait to read more. I really can't. 
This series never seizes to amaze me but this story, the length and heart that went into the kidnapping, was just incredible. I felt everything. I wanted to kill the f****rs. 

There's also another MC brought into the mix, one I'm presuming is from another author that I just have to get my hands on. The men on that side of the pond sound just as hot. The character, Gypsy that was brought into the story was to die for. I fell in love so hard with his character. 
Not only that, but Melissa, who we meet in coming out as Julian's next door neighbour has a huge part to play in the story and she catches the eye of Dallas. 
They're banter had me in stitches. It give the dark, upsetting, heartwarming novel that much needed humor. 

And I say dark, it only lasts for 40% of the book, before the aftermath of what happens is turns to light of Nary and Saxon building their relationship. 

I really want to right more, talk about scenes that blew me away and what had me shivering, crying and laughing. I really do. But I won't ruin it for anyone. Yes, it's killing me to do so. 

But when it's released, please, don't hesitate to comment your thoughts on the novel. Let me know what you think of Nary and Saxon. 


Monday, 23 May 2016

Hush (Black Lotus Book Three) By E.K.Blair

I've come to learn there is no escaping your past.

It doesn't matter what you do, it will follow like a phantom--haunting you--reminding you. 

I don't know why I read this book. 

We get glimpses of a normal Elizabeth, not the sick twisted killer that she really is. 
We get to see her get everything she ever wanted, but life sucks and it got in her way and Bennetts. 

Bennett finally forgives her, but it didn't matter in the end, none of it did. 

I was disappointed in the ending. Well, I think I was. I don't think there was ever any redeeming Elizabeth, but Bennett could have made better choices. I don't know. I just found the whole ending a slap in the face because I wanted a different outcome. 


Echo (Black Lotus Book Two) By E.K.Blair

It's been said the longest echo ever measured lasted 75 seconds, but I can assure you, this will last much longer. The bang deafened the world around me, muting everything into nullity, allowing the reflection of its destruction to live far beyond its intended life.

It will follow me forever, destroying me--destroying you.

You want answers?

So do I.

After Bang ended with such a cliffhanger I decided to read this one. It starts off from the end of Bang. 

Alone and not knowing who she is anymore without anyone in her life, Nina, Elizabeth, decides to go to the place where she can feel connected to Bennett, her true love. She travels to Scotland and stays at a little B&B where she meets Isla. 

Still mourning Pike and mostly Bennett she finds herself at a crossroads, hurting herself physically. She starts stalking the house Bennett told her they could escape to and my god, when she finds him there, I knew it would happen, everything just goes from twisted to worse. 

Not only does he HATE Elizabeth, but he harms her, ripping a chunk of hair out. She picks at the thing, making it worse and my insides churned. 
I didn't know what was going to happen, but my like for Bennett disappeared the minute we meet the new one. I couldn't stand him or understand him. 
Personally, I'd never be able to forgive Elizabeth, but hey, he's male and this is a book. But for some reason I was still rooting for Elizabeth to become normal. We see glimpses of it in the first book, but during this book it just becomes worse. 

There's more twists and turns throughout the book and as a sucker, I had to get book three. I reckon I was just punishing myself but I just needed to know.


Bang (Black Lotus #1) By E.K.Blair

They say when you take revenge against another you lose a part of your innocence.
But I'm not innocent.
I haven't been for a very long time.
My innocence was stolen from me. Taken was the life I was supposed to have. The soul I was born with. The ruby heart embedded in a life full of hopes and dreams.


I never even had a choice.
I mourn that life. Mourn the what-ifs.
Until now.
I'm ready to take back what was always meant to be mine.

But every plan has a fatal flaw. Sometimes it's the heart. 

Something about this booked kept me reading it. I don't know what it was but it had me needing to know what was going on, what was happening. 
It was all secretive... every word was like a riddle, laced with secrets, deceit and lies. 

The book is written in present and past POV. We see what Nina and Pike had to endure when they were little and although I didn't read some parts I could only imagine some of the sick stuff their foster dad made them do. 

But, it was where the Nina needs revenge thing that had me reading. I wondered at first if her husband, the person she hates, was somehow related to her foster parent. 

Nina was so messed up. She had a chance to change her life to make things better and I could only imagine the pain she lived with each day, but she made everything worse for herself after getting out from her foster dads care. 

And Pike, the two had such a sick, twisted relationship that not even I could understand. It made me feel grubby reading there part because it was so... WRONG. 

But then Nina seduces Bennett who I completely loved. He had an air of charming arrogance around him along with a personality you couldn't say no to. Yes he had a dark side to him, but it wasn't evil, it wasn't black like Nina, like Pike. 

The book ends with a bang, literally. I didn't know what to think but WTF!!! 
I could have screamed. I didn't really want to buy the next one but something about needing to know that they got a happy ending, that somehow Nina could redeem herself made me buy book two. 


Saturday, 2 April 2016

Fearless By B.B.Reid

When faced with broken love… 

Have you ever had the feeling you were a stranger? 
Out of reach, I watched and mourned me. 
Nothing moved. Breathed. Nothing lived. 
I was in an alternate universe. 
No longer an innocent. 
I had blood on my hands, and I wasn’t even sorry for it. 
I was only afraid for Keiran. 
Of his reaction when the shock wore off. 
It would be an explosion. 
Of hurt, anger, and mistrust. 
He’d know I lied. 
And to him… 
The betrayal born of my good intentions is worse than the act of murder. 

…will you succumb to fear… 

She was supposed to be my light. 
The one who saved me from the monster. 
But when I looked in her eyes that day, I didn’t see her. 
I only saw my father’s killer. 

Her love saved me from the monster. 
Mine turned her into one. 

…or will you be fearless?

I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.....

I had a little trouble getting into the last Broken Love novel, but I have to say, this one has topped them all. Everything I had been questioning started to get answers. 
Everything started to fall into place. I love it when this happens in a book. It makes everything come into a new light and you think 'wow, how did I not pick up on that?' 

Keiran is back to his old ways, but Lake.... She's stronger, wiser, and is now the perfect match for Keiran and his dark side. Don't get me wrong, she still has that flight instinct whenever something goes wrong, but this time she does fight back. They have to fight bigger obstacles than dead beat dads, and crazy mothers. This is a whole new level of fighting for the group and the only way to defeat their demons is together, as a family, as a group, united. 

You can tell a lot of detail and thought went into all these novels. BB Reid just proves again what a talented writer she is. 

The ending, which I'm not going to divulge in, was the best for me. Keiran... My God, it's what I wanted for him from the beginning. 
I also like the fact we will be getting another book from another secondary character in the book, I will not be spoiling this, but he's been one of my favourites. I think it's because he's such a mystery. 


Monday, 21 March 2016

Corrupt By Penelope Douglas


I was told that dreams were our heart's desires. My nightmares, however, became my obsession.

His name is Michael Crist.

My boyfriend's older brother is like that scary movie that you peek through your hand to watch. He's handsome, strong, and completely terrifying. The star of his college's basketball team and now gone pro, he's more concerned with the dirt on his shoe than me.

But I noticed him.

I saw him. I heard him. The things that he did, and the deeds that he hid...For years, I bit my nails, unable to look away.

Now, I've graduated high school and moved on to college, but I haven't stopped watching Michael. He's bad, and the dirt I've seen isn't content to stay in my head anymore.

Because he's finally noticed me.


Her name is Erika Fane, but everyone calls her Rika.

My brother's girlfriend grew up hanging around my house and is always at our dinner table. She looks down when I enter a room and stills when I am close. I can always feel the fear rolling off of her, and while I haven't had her body, I know that I have her mind. That's all I really want anyway.

Until my brother leaves for the military, and I find Rika alone at college.

In my city.


The opportunity is too good to be true, as well as the timing. Because you see, three years ago she put a few of my high school friends in prison, and now they're out.

We've waited. We've been patient. And now every last one of her nightmares will come true.

This book was thrilling, captivating, and so different from Penelope Douglas' other work. It was mind blowing. She kept you hanging on from the very beginning to the end. I literally couldn't get enough.

'Beware the fury of a patient man' 

I've clicked the book as a dark read, but I wouldn't say it was dark, just darkish. It's very explicit, sexy and hot. It always has scenes where you'll want to shake a few of the characters. Everything is so hidden, so secretive and we never really get down to the reasons why they torment Rika until the end of the book and even then I wanted to roll my eyes. Even I could tell she'd never do something like that. 

Micheal holds so much anger, so much resentment it's hard to like him at first. Yeah, he's hot, yes, he cares for Rika, but he does have a funny way of showing it. 

All in all, Penelope went out of her normal boundaries writing this and took a chance publishing it. I can honestly say she did a brilliant job. 
I had read Misconduct not long before Corrupt and couldn't get on with it. I stopped at 30% which is why there isn't a review up. So when I came across this I was a little unsure. There were a few bad reviews, but it was a friend that got me to read it. She loved it and I was so glad she pushed me into it. 

The story is high on adrenaline and you feel every emotion. It was brilliant.